Download Map

Golf in East Malvern


According to the National Trust of Aust (Vic), Central Park is one of the best designed parks in the State.. The park’s 18 acre site was purchased in 1906 by Malvern Council. It was part of a large subdivision which was used as a golf course between 1891 and 1907 by the (Royal) Melbourne Golf Club and then the Caulfield (later Metropolitan) Golf Club.

Caulfield Golf Club 1904

Central Park


When Malvern Council took over the site the land was mainly undeveloped farmland. Tree planting for the park commenced in 1908 and by the 1920’s the gardens were redesigned to include a conservatory and curving paths. From 1911until 1973 a timber framed kiosk with a large refreshment room was the venue for many dances, meetings and receptions. A timber band rotunda built in 1916 was demolished in 1951.

Central Park 1905-06

Conservatory


Central Park Conservatory was erected in 1927. The north and south wings were intended for seasonal displays open to the public. A hot water circulating system was installed and wooden roller blinds were fitted. The Conservatory is significant as one of the oldest conservatories in the State. It has been included on Heritage Victoria’s Register.

Conservatory 1905-06

John Landy Oval


The Central Park oval is today known as the John Landy Oval. It is named after the champion runner who used the oval as a daily training venue throughout the period leading up to his setting new world athletic records in 1954 and his participation in the Melbourne Olympics in 1956.

Mayor, Cr John Chandler and John Landy 1997

Edward Charsley and family


Close by are the Hedgeley Dene Gardens considered to be one of the most unique linear Edwardian municipal gardens in Melbourne. Cross Burke Road at the pedestrian lights and follow Kardella Street to the Gardens. The Hedgeley Dene Gardens were formed along an early water course. The gardens were named after Edward Charsley’s Hedgeley Dene Farm. The farm took its name from ‘Hedgeley’, Edward Charsley’s English birthplace.

Edward Charsley and family c 1880

Charsley family at the Pavilion


From 1891 to 1909 the eighth and ninth fairways of the earlier mentioned golf club skirted the waterholes. From 1902, the Maidment family ran a dairy farm and the waterholes and dam on the property were known locally as Maidment's Lakes. When Hedgeley Dene Farm was subdivided in 1911 the farmhouse was demolished, and the Maidment family moved their dairy to Kardella Street.

Charsley family at the Pavilion c 1880

Hedgeley Dene Gardens


Malvern Council purchased 8.5 acres of land, using it first as a quarry for sand and clay and then as a rubbish tip. The present Gardens were developed from 1924. The lake was excavated, bridges were built and raised beds in the lake were planted with Japanese Iris.

Hedgeley Dene Gardens c 1924

Tram Terminus


Follow any of the streets to the north back to Wattletree Road. Turn left, and enjoy a short walk back to Central Park. If you have time explore the streets to the south and west of Central Park. You will discover many fine examples of Queen Anne, Edwardian and Inter War architecture.

Electric Tram Terminus Burke Road c 1914