Historic Plaques and Markers in Waverley
Updated 20.10.14

Return to Homepage

This is a selection of Plaques and Markers located in the Waverley District.
The list is not exhaustive and if you have any additions or corrections please advise the WHS,

Title Description Location Melway Inscription Notes Image
The Original Children - 1980 A statue and bluestone pedestal with two plaques. Both plaques are bronze with raised bronze lettering. At the north-west corner of the Ashwood College grounds, close to the corner of Vannam Drive and Poplar Avenue, entry from the car park nearest the corner, or the car park to the south of the Drama complex.  The statue is between the new Drama complex and the old school canteen.

60H10

"THE ORIGINAL CHILDREN"

SCULPTURE BY STANLEY HAMMOND, M.B.E.

DONATED TO ASHWOOD HIGH SCHOOL BY M. MCKAY, B.A.

PRINCIPAL 1968-1976

Plaque 2: (East face)

THIS SCULPTURE WAS UNVEILED BY THE HON. A.J. HUNT, M.L.C.

MINISTER OF EDUCATION ON 29 JULY 1980

Note, 23/2/08:
Access may be gained to the school grounds on weekends but during school hours, an approach would need to be made to the school office with a request to view.

Donated by former principal, Mr. McKay and erected in the school grounds.

Zonta Rose A bronze plaque and round concrete plinth. The plaque has raised bronze lettering. Australia 1788-1988 "THE ZONTA ROSE"

Bicentenary Gift of the Zonta Club of Waverley 1988

61E11

Australia 1788-1988

"THE ZONTA ROSE"

Bicentenary Gift of the Zonta Club of Waverley1988

AUSTRALIA'S BI-CENTENNARY, 1788-1988.

 Note, 21/3/2008:
A gift from the Zonta Club for the nation's Bicentenary in 1988.

Some minor graffiti has appeared on the plaque and shows on the photograph.

Note, 15/4/2008:
Zonta International is a worldwide service organisation of executives in business and the professions working to advance the status of women. There are over 33,000 members in more than 1,250 clubs in 67 countries.

Waverley Impressions", Monash Gallery of Art - 1990. A plaque with raised bronze lettering set on a honeycomb rock. Monash Gallery of Art grounds, corner of Ferntree Gully Rd and Jells Rd, entrance from Jells Rd  or via the Wheelers Hill Library car park, Ferntree Gully Rd.

71J11

WAVERLEY IMPRESSIONS

AN ARTS WAVERLEY PROJECT

OFFICIALLY OPENED BY

THE MAYOR WAVERLEY
CR. BARBARA THOMPSON
ON
29 MAY, 1990
SPONSOR NUBRIK INDUSTRIES

Note, 16/3/2008: 
The plaque was placed to commemorate the project undertaken in 1990 to have school children inscribe individual bricks prior to firing in a kiln. The pavers were then laid in a circular pattern.

(Old) Glen Waverley Primary School - Time Capsule - 1985. A square bronze plaque with white lettering. Now held at Waverley Historical Society clubrooms. Originally placed on a rock in the grounds of Glen Waverley Primary School - cnr: Waverley and Springvale Road, Glen Waverley.

70E1

TIME CAPSULE

TO MARK

VICTORIA'S 150TH ANNIVERSARY
1984-85

TO BE OPENED
2034-35

Placed originally in the school grounds above a time capsule.

Note, 22/10/2008:

When the school closed, the plaque was removed from the grounds and now is with Waverley Historical Society.

 
           

A.E. Millard, Member of Riversdale Golf Club - 1928. A memorial sandstone sundial and pedestal with a bronze plaque attached. The plaque has raised bronze lettering. The plaque is adjacent to the main clubhouse, on the west side of the practice putting green.

Located just off pathway heading towards the first tee on the east side under tree.

61A11

ERECTED

IN COMMEMORATION

OF OUR LATE

ESTEEMED MEMBER

A E MILLARD

1928

Note, 20/2/2008:
Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club.

Erected in 1928 for A.E. Millard who was an early member of Riversdale Golf Club

Automobile Club of Victoria Car Rally, Wheelers Hill (1905) - 1985 A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering set into the concrete footpath. Ferntree Gully Rd, north side, east of Jells Rd, Wheelers Hill. 

Note: 10/2/2008.
The plaque is located on the footpath where the service road commences, in front of number 893 Ferntree Gully Rd.

71J9

THE 1905 RALLY, FERNTREE GULLY ROAD WHEELERS HILL

The car came early to Waverley. In July, 1905, theAutomobile Club of Victoria attracted 50 cars (the smallest a tiny de Dion, several Phoenix Trimos and the largest, a Panhard) and a throng of fascinated spectators. One eye-witness wrote: "The climb was over a distance of 1220 yards, (1116 m.) and a rise of 240ft. (73 m.). The panorama of river flat and mountain range was charming in the extreme, and as evening drew on, the purple heather tints which the setting sun reflected on the distant slopes lent an air of enchantment to the outing."

 Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS.

Historical Note, 10/12/2008:
From 1905 to 1940, the steep climb up Ferntree Gully Rd from the Dandenong Creek to the Wheelers Hill Hotel formed the hillclimb course for both motor cars and motorcycles.  Another reported course stretched north along Jells Rd from the Wheelers Hill Hotel and through surrounding paddocks near Joseph Jell's property which is today's Jells Park.

At least 50 cars and motorcycles took part in the rally on the testing slope of Wheelers Hill.  The steepness of this hill can be seen today although it has been cut down and widened.

Bayview Park - Site of Bayview Primary School - 1996 A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering mounted on a honeycomb rock. McLochlan St, north side, between Hillview and Howard Avenues.  Located at the eastern entrance to the park, near the block of shops and almost opposite Donald Rd.

70B2

BAYVIEW PARK

This is the site of the former Bayview Primary School

which opened in 1956 and closed in 1992.

Bayview Park and residential estate were established by

Monash Council in 1996.

Note, 9/6/2008:
Placed to commemorate the opening of the park which is on the site of the Bayview Primary School.

At the end of 1992 Bayview Primary School closed. Both Mt. Waverley P.S. and Bayview P.S. existed in the same 'block' and whilst during the peak days of the late 1960s their combined enrolments exceeded 2000 children, they were now down to little more than 300 for both.  With approximately sixty children from Bayview joining the Mount Waverley community for the commencement of the 1993 school year, the enrolment rose to just over 300.

Bayview Primary School, Opening of Library - 1969 A timber (Victorian Ash) and gold painted plaque Now held by the Waverley Historical Society and located in the rooms Miller Cres, Mt Waverley

61E1

BAYVIEW SCHOOL LIBRARY

OFFICIALLY OPENED ON

26TH SEPTEMBER, 1969
by
The Principal, CHARLES H. McCORD

Note, 9/4/2008:
Placed originally to commemorate the official opening of the school's library in 1969.

The plaque was removed from its original position when the school and the library were demolished and placed in the care of Waverley Historical Society.

Note, 9/6/2008:
At the end of 1992 Bayview Primary School closed. Both Mt. Waverley P.S and Bayview P.S. existed in the same 'block' and whilst during the peak days of the late 1960s their combined enrolments exceeded 2000 children, they were now down to little more than 300.  With sixty odd children from Bayview joining the Mount Waverley community for the commencement of the 1993 school year the enrolment rose to just over 300.

Blacksmith's Forge, Black Flat, (Glen Waverley) (1885) - 1985 A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering set into the concrete footpath. Springvale Rd, east side, south of Waverley Rd, Glen Waverley.

71C5

THE BLACKSMITH'S FORGE, BLACK FLAT, 1885.

In the eighteen-eighties, Melbourne was alive with an economic boom based on the sale of land. Black Flat was suddenly no longer a sleepy siding at the intersection of Waverley and Springvale Roads. David Scammell's forge filled the surrounds with the sounds of metal banging on metal, horses being regularly shoed, drays and carts being restored.   J. Duff opened a post office.

Mrs. Ellen Willey opened a general store. Edward Whitely opened a bakery and Summers and Wicke opened a butcher's shop. The Black Flat Hall was built to host balls, dancing classes, concerts and chess championships. The Black Flat Cricket Club was, by 1889, playing one-day matches against teams as far away as St. Kilda. Historian, Susan Priestley comments that this rising township "was becoming the social hub of the district."

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations by the City of Waverley by the Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 10/2/2008:

An original shop in the township of Black Flat which grew up around the corner of Springvale and Waverley Roads. David Scammel worked the blacksmith's forge until about 1896.

Boonorung People (C. 40,000 BC) Glen Waverley 1985. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering set into the concrete footpath. Waverley Rd, north side, 90 metres west of Bogong Ave. Now in front of Holmesglen Institute of TAFE., Waverley Campus.

71A4

THE BOONOORUNG TRIBE

C 40,000 B.C. - 1860 A.D.

The Boonoorung tribe roamed through this rolling country "moderately timbered with gum and box" for thousands of years before European settlement. Alexander McMillan of the Scotchman's Creek Run (1840) learned their language, enjoyed their campfire myths, songs and music and remained in awe of their physical skills, strength and stamina. Reverend James Clow of Tirhatuan Run (1843) wrote of this fun-loving, peaceful, friendly and trusting people. Yet, by 1860, these proud people had largely been victims to European enmity, disease and drink: the thirty-five survivors had been moved to a reserve in Mordialloc.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical Note: 10/2/2008.
It is a tribute to the nomadic aborigines, who were the original inhabitants. Acknowledges some of the original inhabitants of the current City of Monash - the Boonoorong (Bunurung) peoples.

This plaque may now be considered inaccurate in the light of recent studies which have shown that the Woiwurrong and not the Boonoorong (or Bunurong) were probably the tribal owners of most of what is considered the current City of Monash.

Note: 14/2/2008
Previous pamphlets give the directions as west of Montague Street, however this street has now been closed off at Waverley Road.

Bridge over Gardiners Creek Ashwood 1926 Two original granite plaques with recessed, gold lettering, (now faded) and mounted into concrete bridge piers. Two plaques located on the two concrete bridge pillars, Gardiners Creek crossing, High Street Rd, Ashwood - south side.

60H10

INSCRIPTION 1:

SHIRE OF
MULGRAVE
THIS BRIDGE WAS
BUILT IN THE YEAR
1926

JOSHUA JORDAN
PRESIDENT

INSCRIPTION 2:

SHIRE OF
MULGRAVE
THIS BRIDGE WAS
BUILT IN THE YEAR
1926

CH COLEMAN JP
ACTING PRESIDENT

Historical note, 28/2/2008:

When the 1926 bridge was replaced in more recent years, the two original marble foundation stones were placed into the two concrete rail supports on the southern side of the new bridge.

The two plaques were laid by Joshua Jordan and C.H. Coleman for the first permanent bridge over Gardiners Creek in 1926. The area would have been known then as Burwood.

Bridge over Gardiners Creek Burwood - 1965 A bronze plaque with raised lettering. Plaque is located on the north side of the bridge on the western concrete pillar. East of Lytton Street, Burwood.

60K7

THIS BRIDGE WAS CONSTRUCTED

BY THE
COUNTRY ROADS BOARD
IN 1965

TO REPLACE THE ORIGINAL
BRIDGE OPENED BY
THE HON. W.H. EDGAR
22 AUGUST 1913

Note: 9/3/2008.
The plaque is attached to the bridge built in 1965 over Gardiners Creek, Burwood replacing an earlier bridge built in 1913.

This plaque is part of the City of Whitehorse, however because the bridge is part of the boundary between the two municipalities, it has been included.

Bridge on Gardiners Creek, Holmesglen - 1938. A small brass plaque with large, raised lettering. The plaque is attached to the concrete ends of the bridge - east side, (City of Monash) north corner, facing the carriageway.

60G12

C.R.B.

1938

Note 1/3/2008:
Part of the small plaque has been painted over, (very badly!)

Placed to mark the construction of the concrete bridge over Gardiners Creek on the border with City of Stonnington, previously City of Malvern.  Construction was by the Country Roads Board and the bridge was opened for traffic in 1938.

Brindalee Gardens, Chadstone Housing Develpment - 1996. A brass-plated plaque with black recessed lettering. Brindalee Mews, off Bolwarra St, Chadstone - north of Waverley Rd, west of Huntingdale Rd.

The plaque is located in the centre parkland of the estate.

69J2

BRINDALEE GARDENS

Winner of the UDIA (Victoria) Excellence Award, 1995 in the category of Medium Density Development

Officially opened by the Honourable Robert Maclellan MLA

Minister for Planning, Victoria

 2 February, 1996

Note, 21/3/2008:
The plaque is of coated brass and has some superficial damage.

Located to commemorate the opening of the medium density estate on the site of the former Jordanville South Primary School.

Note, 9/6/2008:
Brindalee Gardens, Chadstone
1992 - 1995
UDIA Award

Cenotaph & War Memorial, Glen Waverley, - c.1920. A large, granite monument containing inscriptions on all four faces. Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, west side, south of Waverley Rd. Central Reserve.

71C5

EAST FACING FACADE:

FOR KING AND COUNTRY

ERECTED AS A TRIBUTE TO THE MEN OF GLEN WAVERLEY WHO MADE THE SUPREME SACRIFICE IN THE GREAT WAR
1914-1918

THEIR NAME LIVETH FOR EVERMORE

NORTH FACING FACADE:
 LAW   F.
SMITH  N
.WHEELWRIGHT H.M.

WEST FACING FACADE:
LEST WE FORGET

SOUTH FACING FACADE:
ADAMS, F.
FEAR S.R.W.
HERRIOT W.E.
HORNER C.S.C.

Historical note, 9/3/2008:

The cenotaph is dedicated to the memory of those men of the Shire of Mulgrave/ City of Waverley who made the supreme sacrifice during World War I and World War II,

Cheshire Cheese Hotel Wheelers Hill (1864) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering set into the concrete footpath. Ferntree Gully Rd, north side west of Lum Rd, Wheelers Hill.

Note: 10/2/2008
- right on the corner of Lum Road, west side.

71F9

THE CHESHIRE CHEESE   1864

In the eighteen sixties a number of rudimentary inns were established throughout the district. One of the earliest was The Cheshire Cheese built here by Robert Wolstenholme with locally cut sandstone. It soon became a staging for Cobb and Company and catered successfully for settlers, timber sawyers, bushmen and travelers.  Other early inns were the Notting Hill, The Mulgrave Arms, The Tally Ho and The Mountain View, The Squatters Rest, known also as The No Good Damper, The South Yarra and The Lady Of The Lake. So elegant was this stone that the Anglicans accepted Wolstenholme's offer to donate what he did not need to construct the beautiful St Matthew's Church on Wellington and Springvale Roads corner in 1869.  It stood proudly until demolished in 1976.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the Council, Spring, 1985

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 10/2/2008:
This hotel was built from local sandstone and later became known as the Temperance Hotel.  Lum Rd was named after the family who built their wattle and daub home there.

Existed from 1864, but in 1885 was delicensed and became the home of John brown, from Heidelberg. In 1891 the Cheshire cheese became George Cotter's Temperance Hotel.

City of Waverley History Series, Glen Waverley A large board to commemorate the finding of gold in the creeks around the Mountain View Hotel in 1893. Springvale Road, north west corner of intersection with High Street Road. It faces south.

62D2

CITY OF WAVERLEY

HISTORY SERIES

HOLLAND'S GOLD MINE

Circa 1893

Gold was discovered on this site, previously known as Black Flat in 1893, mining continued on into the turn of the century.

NOTE, 21/2/2008:
This board is one of three of a series which was erected.  One other is known but has since been removed:

Cnr. Waverley and Springvale Rds - south side Waverley Rd, east of the Bowling Club.

This commemorated the original site of the Black Flat township.

Also the site of the Holland brothers mine. Little gold was actually found.

Note: 9/3/2008.
Re: condition. The sign is fading and is showing the signs of weathering.

City of Waverley History Series, Glen Waverley A large board to commemorating the once rural aspect of Springvale Road, Glen Waverley. Originally placed near the corner of Springvale and Waverley Roads on Central Reserve.

71C5

CITY OF WAVERLEY

HISTORY SERIES

Springvale Road (circa 1920)

Rural scene along Springvale Road depicting life in the early part of the century, the available shops amid orchards and market gardens typifying early Waverley.

NOTE, 18 June, 2008:

This is one of three such history of Waverley signs placed.  However, this has since been removed from its position near Central Reserve and its whereabouts is not known.

City of Waverley History Series, Glen Waverley A large board to commemorating the once rural aspect of Waverley Rd, Mt. Waverley. Cnr Waverley Rd and Pamela St, east corner, facing Waverley Rd.

70C3

CITY OF WAVERLEY

HISTORY SERIES

WAVERLEY ROAD

CIRCA 1933)

Note, 21/2/2008:
Commemorating the once-rural aspect of Waverley Road. This photo was typical of all main roads within the Shire of Mulgrave until the coming of the urban population in the 1950s and 1960s. The photograph shows Park Lane on the left and cows, probably belonging to Goffs wandering on Waverley Rd.

There would have been text below the photo, however this has faded and disappeared over time. Original text unknown at this time.

Note, 21/2/2008:
This board is one of three of a series which was erected.  One other is known but has since been removed. :Cnr. Waverley and Springvale Rds - south side Waverley Rd, east of the Bowling Club. This commemorated the original site of the Black Flat township. 

Note, 21/2/2008:
Re: condition. The sign is fading and is showing the signs of weathering.

The Closter Family Home, Mt Waverley (1900) - c.1978. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering. Located at the entrance to Community Centre, Miller Cres, Mt. Waverley, north side, between Stephensons Rd and Wadham Parade.

61E1

THIS PEDESTAL AND SURROUNDS

BUILT WITH BRICKS OF THE

CLOSTER HOUSE,

FORMERLY SITED NEARBY - PROVIDES A

TANGIBLE LINK WITH THE HISTORY

OF THE AREA AND IS DEDICATED TO

THE MEMORY OF THE EARLY SETTLERS

OF THE DISTRICT.

Note, 10/2/2008:
The plaque is set in a base constructed from Blackburn pressed bricks from the 1900 home.

The plaque provides no dates or information about who placed it and when. (Probably erected after 1978)

Original bronze sundial has been vandalized or removed from the top of the pedestal.

George and Rosina Closter (formerly Kloster) lived and farmed in Stephensons Road and their house was burnt down, to be replaced in 1900. This was built on Stephensons Rd between Miller Crescent and Holskamp St.  After their deaths, Waverley Council purchased the home and it was demolished in 1978.

Cook Family Property and home, Glen Waverley (1919) - 1988. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering. The plaque mounted in the Glen Waverley Library forecourt, Kingsway, Glen Waverley - east side, close to road.

71C3

THE COOK FAMILY

This plaque marks the site of the former Cook family cottage. In 1919, on his return from the war, Philip Everard Cook purchased, with assistance from his brothers Leonard and Bertram 10 acres of land on which the Civic Centre now stands. In 1920 Philip established a poultry farm on the property. He and his brothers and later his mother and sister became actively involved in the community and development of the district.

Placed on "Australia Day" 26 January in the Bicentennial Year of 1988

Cr. G. B. Frecker JP Mayor

AUSTRALIA'S BI-CENTENNARY, 1788-1988

Note: 20/2/2008:
This plaque was re-located (several times) from its original position in front of the main entrance of the Glen Waverley Library, just a few metres to the west to avoid damage from skateboarders. The raised lettering may originally have been gold.

Historical note, 20/2/2008:
Philip Everard Cook purchased land facing Springvale Road in 1919, with the assistance of his two brothers. Here, they established a poultry farm on land that was to eventually house the City of Monash Civic Centre.

David Doyle Sculpture, Monash Gallery of Art - 2001. A polished silver plaque with recessed black lettering. Entry to the Gallery via Gallery Place, from Jells Road. Located on the edge of the ornamental lake to the east of the pathway and building.

71J10

DAVID DOYLE

Mom and the two kids - demographically Oz, 2001

Fibreglass and marine grade paint finish.

On loan courtesy of the artist.

Note, 16/3/2008:

Mom and the two kids. Demographically Oz by Australian sculptor David Doyle is the new addition to the MGA's sculpture park. Made from fibreglass and measuring around two metres in height, Mom and the two kids. Demographically Oz was a finalist entry in The Helen Lempriere National Sculpture Award in 2001.

David Doyle Sculpture, Monash Gallery of Art - 2001. A polished silver plaque with recessed black lettering. Monash Gallery of Art, corner Ferntree Gully Road and Jells Road. Entry to the Gallery via Gallery Place, from Jells Road, or via the Wheelers Hill Library car park, Ferntree Gully Road.. The sculpture and plaque are located to the east of the pathway leading to the entrance of the Gallery.

71J10

DAVID WATERS

The Set, 2005 

Cast concrete. On loan from the artist

Note, 16/3/2008:
David Waters completed his Bachelor of Fine Arts at RMIT University in 1985. Since this time, David has created public works for various locations across Australia and his sculptural and print work has been included in over 40 exhibitions. He has won several prizes, including the 2005 Montalto Sculpture Prize. David uses a range of materials in unconventional ways, such as wood, canvas, foam, glass and clay to create installation and sculptural works.

Directory of Historic Markers, Glen Waverley Library - 1984. A series of four bronze plaques with raised bronze lettering and set on a large boulder, cut in half. In the forecourt of Glen Waverley Library, Kingsway, Glen Waverley, facing north along Kingsway.

71C3

CITY OF WAVERLEY DIRECTORY OF HISTORIC MARKERS

1. THE BOONOORUNG PEOPLE C.40,000 B.C.
2. THOMAS NAPIER AND MADELINE SCOTT, FIRST EUROPEAN SETTLERS, 1839
3. THE SCOTCHMANS CREEK RUN, 1840
4. THE TOWN OF "WAVERLEY", 1854
5. THE TOWN COMMON IN HIGH STREET ROAD, 1861
6. THE TOWN COMMON IN WAVERLEY ROAD, 1861
7. THE CHESHIRE CHEESE AND EARLY INNS, 1864
8. ST. STEPHEN'S CHURCH AND COMMON SCHOOL, 1865
9. THE WESLEYAN CHURCH, BLACK FLAT AND SCHOOL, 1867
10. THE TOLL GATES, 1868
11. SIR REDMOND BARRY'S COUNTRY ESTATE "SYNDAL", 1869
.12. THE TALLY HO INN AND RACE TRACK, 1877.

Sites of Historical Footpath Markers placed as part of the Victoria 150th Anniversary Celebrations 1984 - 1985. 

MAP
 A COMMUNITY PROJECT SUPPORTED BY MERCEDES BENZ (AUSTRALIA) PTY. LTD.

13. THE MULGRAVE STATE SCHOOL, 1879
14. THE GLEN WAVERLEY STATE SCHOOL, 1880
15. THE BLACKSMITH'S FORGE, BLACK FLAT, 1885
16. THE MULGRAVE PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, 1891
17. GOLD DISCOVERIES, 1893.
18. HORTY HALL, 1899
19. THE AUTOMOBILE CLUB OF VICTORIA, CAR RALLY, 1905
20. TAIT'S POST OFFICE AND STORE, MT. WAVERLEY, 1905
21. MOUNT WAVERLEY STATE SCHOOL, 1906
22. THE GLEN WAVERLEY MECHANICS INSTITUTE, 1908
23. ST. LEONARD'S CHURCH ORIGINAL SITE, 1913
24. THE OLD SHIRE OFFICES, NOTTING HILL, 1921.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Note, 12/2/2008:
Directory of Historic Markers.  Placed  in 1984 to mark the placement of 24 markers at various points within the City of Waverley, it commemorates Victoria's  Sesqui-centenary.  The marker was donated by Mercedes Benz, Australia and was unveiled by the then Mayor of the City of Waverley, Cr. Russell Hannan.

The marker was donated by Mercedes Benz, Australia and was unveiled by the then Mayor of the City of Waverley, Cr. Russell Hannan.

Note, 12/2/2008:
Of the original 24 plaques placed for this project, only one can be considered to be lost.

No. 13 (The Mulgrave State school Plaque) disappeared during roadworks along Wellington Rd at some stage.

Doug Bell, Plaque Vic Roads - Mt Waverley - 2002. A polished silver steel plaque with recessed black lettering. On the embankment on the Ferntree Gully Road on-ramp to the Monash Freeway. Entrance to the on-ramp is from the south side of Ferntree Gully Road, west of Springvale Road.

71A8

IN MEMORY
OF
DOUG BELL

WORKS MANAGER VIC ROADS FOWLER ROAD. DEPOT
Aged 56 Years
28/8/1946 - 7/8/2002
R.I.P.

Placed to commemoration the work of Vic Roads manager, Doug Bell.

Note, 21/3/2008.

Access is only possible by stopping on the on-ramp to the freeway. There appears to be no access from the southern side of the embankment.

Footbridge over Blackburn Rd, Mt Waverley - 1990. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering recessed into a large, honeycomb rock. Plaque is located on the east side of the road at the commencement of the bridge. North of Stableford Avenue.

70J3

THIS BRIDGE WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED BY

THE MAYOR OF WAVERLEY
CR. T. M. HEFFERNAN

ON 29 OCTOBER 1990

A JOINTLY FUNDED PROJECT BY

THE COMMONWEALTH AND STATE GOVERNMENTS
BICENTENNIAL PROGRAM,
VICROADS AND WAVERLEY CITY COUNCIL.
DESIGN AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT
WAVERLEY CITY COUNCIL.

Note: 12/3/2008.
A footbridge to span busy Blackburn Road was built in the Scotchmans Creek gully in 1990. It connects the consulting/medical suites to the east of Blackburn Road with Waverley Hospital and provided a continuous bike path through Scotchmans Creek Linear Park.

This 11 km path bisects the municipality into Northern and Southern sections. It begins at Warrigal Road and intersects with the Dandenong Creek Path at the picturesque Jells Park. Areas of interest include sports grounds, Monash Aquatic and Recreation Centre, Oakleigh Recreation Centre, Glen Waverley Police Academy, Brickmakers Park, Waverley and Oakleigh Golf Courses and Monash University.

Gallagher Family Property and Home, Glen Waverley, (1871) - 1990. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering. Attached to an Oak tree, in the grounds of Mt. View Primary School, cnr. Gallaghers and Shepherd Rd, Glen Waverley.

71F3

25th ANNIVERSARY

MOUNT VIEW PRIMARY SCHOOL

 THIS PLAQUE COMMEMORATES
THE HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION OF THIS TREE WITH THE HOME OF THE PIONEER GALLAGHER FAMILY AND 25 YEARS OF EDUCATION AT MOUNT VIEW. 11/10/1990.

UNVEILED BY
MR. J. F. MURPHY
ON THE 21.10.1990.

Historical note, 21/2/2008:
Peter Gallagher selected land along Minogue's Road (now Gallaghers Road) in 1871 - 128 acres running east to Dandenong Creek. He and his wife Rose, built their home facing the present Shepherd Road where they raised their family. Descendents were still farming the property when the Education Department bought the top section of the land for a school in around 1965.

George Naismith, Club professional, Riversdale Gof Club - 1983. Bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering, mounted on a small, raised concrete base. Riversdale golf course, beside the pathway leading to the 1st tee, east side.

61A11

PLANTED IN MEMORY OF GEORGE W. NAISMITH 1928- 1963. DIED 25-5-83

Note, 20/2/2008:
Permission should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club to view.

Note, 9/6/2008:
Shortly after the move to St. Johns Wood, George Naismith was appointed Professional to Riversdale, a position he held for some 34 years.  A fine golfer, Naismith was Victorian Professional Champion in 1932 and 1934 and won the Australian Open in 1937. Apart from his outstanding golfing record, George Naismith is well known as the early mentor of two later golfing greats Peter Thomson and David Graham, both of whom were Assistant Professionals at Riversdale.

Glen Waverley (Heights) Primary School, Silver Anniversary - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering placed on a honey comb rock. Glen Waverley Primary School, High Street Road, Glen Waverley, east of Springvale Road, south side. The plaque is located in the centre of the school grounds, north of the main buildings and east of

71D1

THIS PLAQUE WAS UNVEILED BY MR. I. M. HALL REGIONAL DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION TO MARK THE PLANTING OF 25 TREES IN CELEBRATION OF OUR SILVER ANNIVERSARY

Placed to commemorate the silver anniversary of the school, formerly Glen Waverley Heights Primary School.  A stand of trees was planted to mark the occasion in 1985.

Note, 21/3/2008:
Access is restricted. Access at weekends is open, however during school hours, inquiries should be directed to the school office.

Glen Waverley Mechanics Institute, (1908) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, gold writing set into the concrete path. Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, west side, south of Waverley Road, adjacent to, and to the south of the main entrance to Central Reserve.

71C5

THE GLEN WAVERLEY MECHANICS INSTITUTE

On this site stood the Glen Waverley Mechanics Institute. Built by community effort, it opened on August 18th, 1909 and was used as a meeting hall, committee rooms and library until destroyed by fire on September 10th, 1956.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the students of Caulfield Grammar School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Note, 10/2/2008:
On October 2,1907,12 men bought ten acres of land in Springvale Road, to provide an athletics ground. A Mechanics' Institute Hall was built on half an acre of this land and opened on 18 August 1909.

After much community enthusiasm and physical effort, a recreation reserve was opened in 1908 and a Mechanics Institute Hall in 1909. Two front rooms were added in 1926 but the whole building was destroyed by fire in 1956 when it was being used as a temporary school room.

Glen Waverley State School, (1880) - 1985. Two bronze plaques with raised, bronze lettering - one a directional plaque. Waverley Road, north east corner with Springvale Road, Glen Waverley. The directional plaque is set into the concrete pathway on Springvale road and the main plaque has been placed onto the west-facing wall of the school building.

71C4

THE GLEN WAVERLEY STATE PRIMARY SCHOOL, No 2219

Erected on this site, 1880, being the first permanent school building in the City of Waverley.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the students of the Glen Waverley Primary School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 10/2/2008:
The first school was held in the Wesleyan Chapel which later became a state school. The new brick school with residence was built on this corner in 1880 and this building can still be seen. On the opposite corner was the site of an early General Store and Post Office.

 The building is currently leased to Le Pine and Sons for use by them and also as a community meeting place. This current lease expires in 2009.

Glen Waverley War Memorial - 1999. The memorial consists of three concrete panels joined at the apex.

There are plaques on the panels and a polished black granite plinth on the western (Kingsway) side of the memorial.

Located at the south end of Kingsway, Glen Waverley, east side between Glen Waverley Library and the Ibis Hotel.

71C3

WEST FACING PLINTH:

PASS NOT IN THIS PLACE IN SORROW BUT IN PRIDE AS MAY YOU LIVE NOBLY AS THEY DIED KNOWING THAT THEIR DEATH IN FREEDOM'S CAUSE STANDS AS A BEACON LIGHT TO POINT THE WAY TO PATHS OF PEACE.

"LEST WE FORGET" THIS MEMORIAL COMMEMORATES THE MEN AND WOMEN OF THE FORMER CITY OF WAVERLEY AND SHIRE OF MULGRAVE WHO SERVED THEIR COUNTRY, AND THOSE WHO PAID THE SUPREME SACRIFICE.
JANUARY 1999

WORLD WAR I
1914-1918

ADAMS F.
ALCOCK J.
BARKER F.
BATTEN T.
BENNETT F.T.
BRAY R.L.
BRENNAN W.J.
BROWN S.
CAMPBELL W.
CORNELL E.
CROW W.
DOOLAN W.R.
DOVER T.E.
FEAR S.R.W.
FURPHY A.F.
HERRIOTT W.E.
HORE S.E.
HORNER C.S.C.
KELSELL W.J.
LAW F.
MUNRO A.M.
MCPHERSON A.R.
MCPHERSON L.J.
SMITH N.
WHEELWRIGHT H.M
WHITE D.C. 

WORLD WAR II
1939-1945

COOPER A.D.W.
COVENTRY H.F.
EZZARD R.H.
FEW W.J.
FOSTER B.
FREESTONE T.G.
GREENWOOD L.J.
KERFERD L.G.
MARWICK H.G.
MATTHEWS R.G.
MOORE A.T.
PARKINSON J.
SOMERVILLE J.
VOUSDEN G.V.
WILSON E.R

VIETNAM
1962-1973

DAVIES R.E.
HARTNEY G.J.
WATSON R.C.A

Note: 9/3/2008:

This recently constructed Memorial carries a number of polished bronze plaques and is dedicated to those locals who served and died in all wars and conflicts. Erected in 1999.

Gold Discoveries, Glen Waverley (1893) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering, set into the concrete path. Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, west side, north of High Street Road.

62D12

GOLD DISCOVERIES, 1893 - 1905

In these gullies running eastward to Dandenong Creek, several shafts were sunk between 1893 and 1906. Quartz taken from the "Hollands Reward" mine yielded six ounces of gold to the ton. "Sydney Jim" Bridges, boasting "heyes like a heagle" spotted gold midst the mullock heaps adjoining the Mountain View Hotel.   The "Black Flat North Gold Mining Company" and the "Mountain View Gold Mining Company were formed. A rush had begun in which sightseers were to outnumber miners.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Highvale High School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 10/2/2008:

Gold was first discovered near the Mountain View Hotel by a digger named James Bridge. Phillip Holland and his sons obtained gold from the reef near the hotel.  The Mountain View Hotel, now modernised, has functioned since 1877.

Harry Higham, Riversdale Golf Club - 1982. A small bronze memorial plaque with raised bronze lettering. Located in the grounds of Riversdale Golf Course, entrance from Huntingdale Road. Located adjacent to the 3rd tee.

61A11

A TRIBUTE

TO THE MEMORY OF

HARRY HIGHAM

A VALUED AND FAITHFUL

EMPLOYEE OF THIS CLUB

FOR 35 YEARS

1927-1962

Note, 20/2/2008:
Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club.

Biographical note, 4/6/2008.
Harry Higham, 1890-1962.

Harry Higham was born on May 27th, 1890 in Lancashire England. he lived first at Blackpool. At the age of 10, he left school to earn his living and help support his widowed mother.

In the following years he worked in the market gardens around Blackpool, before coming out to Australia in 1911, at the age of 21.

In Australia he worked on the land, mainly in market gardens around Melbourne. During World War I he served in the Merchant navy and on hospital ships between India and the Middle East.

On the 29 March 1919, he married Jessie Brewer, daughter of James Brewer, the owner of St. John's Wood, now Riversdale Golf Links.

When St. John's Wood was sold to Riversdale, he stayed on, helping lay out the course and then as greenkeeper, took charge of the course and grounds until ill-health forced him to retire many years later.

During those years as greenkeeper he also planted most of the trees at Riversdale and also laid out and cared for the gardens in front of the club-house, always a delight to see. 

When the bowling green was laid out, he took over its care and maintenance, leaving most of the other course duties to his assistants.

On many an occasion in hot weather, he would make a special trip over the weekend to hand water his bowling green. Ill health forced his retirement and he died on September 24, 1962.

A small memorial plaque is under a silver birch tree beside his beloved bowling green.

M.J.W.
Written by his daughter,
Mary (Higham) Wolf in Adelaide, S.A.

Highvale & District Guide and Brownie Association Plaque & Seat - 1988. A small brass plaque with recessed lettering. Westlands Road, Glen Waverley, east side, in front of number 40, Westlands Road. Placed on the nature strip and surrounded by a small concrete base, adjacent to the street seat.

62F2

DONATED BY HIGHVALE DISTRICT GUIDE AND BROWNIE ASSOCIATION COMMEMORATING THE BICENTENNIAL 25 JUNE 1988.

AUSTRALIA'S BI-CENTENNARY, 1788-1988.

Note, 17/3/2008:
The plaque is showing signs of scratching on the surface.

Located to mark the installation of a street seat marking the occasion of the country's Bicentennial, 1988.

Horticultural "Horty" Hall, Mt Waverley, (1899) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering and set into the footpath. High Street Road, south side, cnr Stewart Street, Mt. Waverley.

Note: 13/2/2008. Located in front of 486 High Street Road.

61H12

"HORTY HALL", MOUNT WAVERLEY, 1899.

On the crest of this hill, over-looking the now renowned orchards of High Street Road, Secretary J. B. Brewster designed and built the Mt. Waverley and District Horticultural Hall. So began a new focus for community life: concerts, glee clubs, dances, theatricals, educational lectures, meetings, schools, speech nights, and even wrestling displays graced this beautiful timber building with its rusticated block fronted and iron cresting, its moulded panel ceiling, its Kauri seats and its handsome nickel lamps for a cost, including land of less than 200, ($400).

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS 

Historical note 13/2/2008:
The Mt. Waverley and District Association had been part of the Boorondara, Nunawading and Mulgrave Horticultural and Fruitgrowers Association.

Built for the staging of horticultural shows,'Horty Hall' became a focus for community life - concerts, dances, meetings, etc. Known locally as "Horty Hall".  Now demolished.

 Joshua Brand Brewer had lived at "St. John's Wood", previously connected with Sir Redmond Barry and his mistress, Louisa Barry.

Ikebana International Plaque & Tree, Jells Park - 1984. A bronze plaque with raised lettering (may originally have been bronze). The grounds of Jells Park, beside the walking track approximately 150 metres north-east of the Visitors' Centre - Cafe.  Located at ground level beneath a tree planted in 1984.

71K6

THIS TREE WAS PLANTED BY

NORMAN J. SPARNON O.A.M.

TO CELEBRATE 25 YEARS OF IKEBANA INTERNATIONAL IN AUSTRALASIA

29TH MARCH 1984

The plaque commemorates 25 years of Ikebana International in Australia.

Note, 21/3/2008:
IKEBANA is the Japanese art of flower arrangement. IKEBANA is more than simply putting flowers in a container. It is a disciplined art form in which the arrangement is a living thing in which nature and humanity are brought together. It is steeped in the philosophy of developing closeness with nature.

As is true of all other arts, IKEBANA is creative expression within certain rules of construction.  Its materials are living branches, leaves, grasses, and blossoms. Its heart is the beauty resulting from colour combinations, natural shapes, graceful lines, and the meaning latent in the total form of the arrangement. IKEBANA is, therefore, much more than mere floral decoration.

The growing appreciation of Japanese art and architecture in the West has extended to the Japanese way with flowers. IKEBANA is an art, in the same sense that painting and sculpture are arts.  It has a recorded history; it is backed up by articulate theories; and it is concerned with creativity.  In Japan, flower arrangements are used as decorations on a level with paintings and other art objects.

Inge King Sculpture, Monash Gallery of Art, - 1998. A polished, silver plaque with black, painted letters. Gallery of Monash, corner of Ferntree Gully Rd and Jells Road. Entry to the Gallery via Gallery Place, from Jells Rd or via the Wheelers Hill Library car park, Ferntree Gully Rd. The sculpture is located to the right of the pathway to the Gallery entrance.

71J10

INGE KING

Born Germany, 1918, arrived Australia, 1951.

NAYADS

1997, Warrandyte, Melbourne.

 Purchased through the Art Foundation of Victoria with the assistance of J. B. Were and Sons, Governors, 1997.

Inge King was born in Berlin in 1918. She commenced formal studies at The Academy of Fine Arts in Berlin and later was awarded a scholarship to study at The Royal Academy in London. After studying there for one year she enrolled at the Glasgow School of Art, where she graduated and joined the teaching staff. She also studied in Paris and in New York. Before arriving in Australia in 1950, she held an exhibition at the London Gallery, Brooke Street.

In Australia, Inge King became a foundation member of the Centre Five group. Other members include, Julius Kane, Clifford Last, Lenton Parr, Vincas Jomantus, Teisutis Zikaras.

Inge King is represented in public and private collections in Australia and overseas and is best known for her many public commissions.

1998

To mark the external sculpture by Inge King.

Note, 16/3/2008:
Inge King - b. 1929, lives in Warrandyte, Victoria.  In her early sculpture King worked with a variety of materials, although the modern media of arc welding and industrial steel characterize most of her work after 1960. King's geometric abstractions challenge the viewer to explore the formal relations of space in and around her work and to consider the figurative allusions made in her titles. When Inge King executes monumental projects, such as Surge Forward, she works with a team of engineers and welders to enlarge and install her Marquettes.

John Kelly, Sculpture Monash Gallery of Art, - 2003. A brushed aluminium plaque below the rusted metal sculpture. Gallery of Monash, corner of Ferntree Gully Rd and Jells Rd. Entry to the Gallery via Gallery Place, from Jells Road, or via the Wheelers Hill Library car park, Ferntree Gully Rd. The sculpture is located close to the entrance to the Wheelers Hill Library car park, Ferntree Gully Rd. 71J10

JOHN KELLY

Marquette for a public monument

2003

rusted corten steel 3/3

on loan courtesy of the artists and Niagara Galleries

Note, 21/3/2008:
The English born sculptor John Kelly grew up in Australia but is now living in Ireland. It’s not the first unusual or exotic location for a John Kelly sculpture. His previous exhibits include Cow up a tree (which featured in The Times) at the Les Champs de la Sculpture (1999) on the Champs Elysees, Paris. The public debut of Three cows in a pile was at La Parade des Animaux, in the Casino Gardens in Monte Carlo in 2002. Both Cow up a tree and Three cows in a pile were cast at the famous Courbetin Foundry, Paris.

In 1994 John Kelly was awarded a residency at the Australia Council studio in Barcelona which was followed in 1995 by an exhibition of his work Piccadilly Gallery in London. In late 1996 he received a twelve months Samstag Scholarship to study at the Slade, London. The Samstag Scholarship was crucial in allowing him to live and work in London.

Kulin Nation Plaque, Civic Centre - 2002 A brass coloured plaque with white lettering. Located at the entrance to City of Monash Civic Centre, Springvale Road, Glen Waverley. Fixed to the wall on the left of the main entrance.

71C3

City of Monash

The City of Monash is proud to acknowledge the Clans of the Kulin Nation who previously occupied the land

This commemorative plaque was unveiled during NAIDOC (National Aborigines and Islander Day Observance Committee) Week

On 8 July 2002

by the Mayor
Cr Geoff Lake

Councillors
Peter Holdsworth  Paul Klisaris Matthew Evans Kathy Magee Tom Morrissey Felicity Smith Peter Vlahos

Placed to honour the indigenous inhabitants of this region prior to European settlement.

Historical Note, 9/6/2008:
About The Wurundjeri People:
The Kulin nation comprised a number of clans and the Woi wurrung and more specifically, the Wurrundjeri hunted and lived in the area we now know as the City of Monash.

The first people that occupied the Melbourne area prior to European colonisation were the Woiwurrung language group, specifically the Wurundjeri people.

The following is a list of the clans within the Wurundjeri area:

Wurundjeri-balluk & Wurundjeri-willam (Yarra Valley Yarra River catchment area to Heidelberg)

Balluk-willam (south of the Yarra Valley extending down to Dandenong, Cranbourne, Koo-wee-rup Swamp)

Gunnung-willam-balluk (east of the Great Dividing Ranges and north to Lancefield) Kurung-jang-balluk (Werribee River to Sunbury) Marin-balluk (Boi-berrit) (land west of the Maribyrnong River and Sunbury) Kurnaje-berreing (the land between the Maribyrnong and Yarra Rivers)

Boundaries
The territory of the Wurundjeri lies within the inner city of Melbourne and extends north of the Great Dividing Ranges, east to Mt Baw Baw, south to Mordialloc Creek and west to Werribee River.

Language / terminology
Some key terms of Woiwurrung language (and their English equivalent) are noted here:

Bulluk / balluk - swamp

Nira - cave

Willam / wilam / Illam / yilam - hut, camp, bark Gunung / Gunnung - River

Totems :
The two moeity totems of the Wurundjeri people are Bunjil the Eaglehawk and Waang the Crow.

Places of Significance
The Wurundjeri are the traditional owners of a large part of the land of inner and outer Melbourne.

The Yarra River was central to the Wurundjeri people as it provided a variety of foods such as eels and fish. Along its fertile banks the numerous variety of native animals and plants would be found.

There are a number of identified significant sites, in particular those found near the Yarra & Maribyrnong Rivers and the Merri Creek. A place of great gathering occurred at the Bolin Bolin Billabong in Bulleen where sacred and social interaction between the clans would take place. The Wurundjeri would also gather with other members of the Kulin Nation on the land where the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MGC) now stands. Other places of significance for the Wurundjeri people are:

Coranderrk Mission Station (Healesville)

Pound Bend (Templestowe / Doncaster)

Mt William Aboriginal Stone Axe Quarry  Dights Falls area (Collingwood)

Heide Scarred Tree (Templestowe)

The Sunbury Rings (Sunbury)

Featuring prominently in Wurundjeri story is William Barak, the last traditional great Ngurungaeta or leader of the clan, who witnessed the signing of the 'treaty' between Woiwurrung and Boonerwrung Elders and John Batman. The Ngurungaeta of the Wurundjeri clan at that time was his father Bebejern, from whom Barak inherited the title.

Lisa Young Sculpture, Monash Gallery of Art - 2002. A silver metal plaque with black lettering. Monash Gallery of Art, corner Ferntree Gully Road and Jells Road. Entry to the Gallery via Gallery Place, from Jells Road,  or via the Wheelers Hill Library car park, Ferntree Gully Road. The sculpture is located immediately to the left of the path leading to the entrance to the Gallery and in front of the building.

71J10

LISA YOUNG

Curlique 2002

steel, paint

on loan from the artist

Note, 16/3/2008:

Lisa Young's focus is the core elements of transportation, the mechanical units that work in unison to propel and create movement. She has interpreted a variety of cogs, gears, pulleys, levers, wheels, axles, and circuitry to create inventive prototypes for phantasical, meandering mechanics. Illustrating driving forces behind motion; velocity, cause/effect and momentum.

Lone Pine Plaque, Glen Waverley - 1981 A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering set on a honeycomb rock. Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, west side, south of Waverley Road. Central Reserve. To the north of the Memorial Gates and Cenotaph.

71C5

CITY OF WAVERLEY

PINUS HALEPENSIS - ALLEPO PINE

THIS TREE IS A DIRECT DESCENDENT
OF THE "LONE PINE" AT GALLIPOLI.
GROWN BY THE FORESTS COMMISSION OF
VICTORIA FROM SEED COLLECTED IN 1976.
PRESENTED BY WAVERLEY R.S.L.

AND PLANTED BY HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR

CR V.P. LeGRAND J.P.

ON REMEMBERANCE DAY, 1981

The Pine tree was planted in 1981 and is a direct descendent of the original Lone Pine at Gallipoli and grown in Victoria. 

Historical note, 9/6/2008:
THE BATTLE OF LONE PINE:

Lone Pine was one of the three attacks planned in order to create a diversion for a British landing in Suvla Bay, and was carried out by the 1st Division, which consisted of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Brigades. At 5:30 pm on August 6th, 1915 these men attacked when the sun was at their backs, and in the Turkish eyes.

The first wave of men were astonished to discover that their objective, being the Turkish frontline, was completely covered in logs and earth. This gave the Turkish soldiers the opportunity to fire safely from a point blank range, and made entry for the Australians nearly impossible. C.E.W Bean, who was observing this scene from the Australian trenches, described the soldiers as "a crowd not unlike that lining the rope around a cricket field". However it wasn't long before the men began to enter the communication trenches which were connected to the front trench allowing them to join their comrades  who had dragged off the heavy log cover at the front.

Wave after wave of Australians continued to enter the dark and deadly trenches that were crammed full of dying and fighting men. Because the fighting was so close, there was no room to use a bayonet or throw bombs. Instead, hands and the swords from the bayonets were the substitute weapons.

By six pm the same day the trenches were taken, but the ANZACs defended and endured the Turkish counter attacks on their former trenches for five days, eventually gaining complete control of the Lone Pine objective.

During the attack, many men ran over the top of the Lone Pine trenches to discover massive amounts of Turkish reinforcements  waiting in the depression behind the font line. However they never lived to tell the tale as they were killed instantly. In 1920 these bodies were found and were commemorated on the Lone Pine Memorial dedicated to the missing.

McDonalds Family Restaurant, Glen Waverley, Time Capsule - 1973. A time capsule and bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters. Corner of High Street Road and Springvale Road – south east corner. The plaque is located inside the window on the west side of the building.

71D1

McDONALDS.

THIS TIME CAPSULE WAS SEALED IN PLACE ON TUESDAY, OCTOBER 2, 1973, TO MARK THE GRAND OPENING OF THIS RESTAURANT, WHICH WAS THE FIRST TO BE ESTABLISHED IN VICTORIA.

THE TIME CAPSULE WILL BE OPENED ON OCTOBER 2, 2000.

IT CONTAINS THE FOLLOWING ITEMS:-

DAILY AND LOCAL NEWSPAPERS FOR TUESDAY, OCTOBER 2, 1973.

CURRENCY: COINS TO THE VALUE OF A BIG MAC.

1973 FEDERAL BUDGET.

VARIOUS MCDONALDS EQUIPMENT AND THE ITEMS OF INTEREST FROM THE YEAR 1973.

Note: 17/3/2008.

Placed in 1973 to commemorate the opening of the first McDonalds Fast Food outlet in Victoria. The plaque was originally located in the garden bed on the west side of the building in 1973. Because it is now in a different location and inside the building, it may be assumed that when the time capsule was lifted in 2000 as stated on the plaque, it may have then been re-placed in its current position at that point.

Alternatively, it may have been located in its present position when remodelling and refitting was done on the restaurant c.2007.

Memorial Gates & Plaques, Glen Waverley - 1949. Memorial Gates & Plaques, Glen Waverley - 1949. Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, west side, south of Waverley Rd. Central Reserve.

71C5

NORTH PILLAR:

R.A.N. Stoker II COOPER, A.D.W.
R.A.N. Stoker WILSON, B.R.
VX 59470 Cpl. EZZARD, R.H.
VX 35404 Private FEW, W.I.
NX 37837 L/BDR. GREENWOOD, L.J.
VX 8335 Private KERFORD, L.G.
VX24372 Private MARWICK, H.G.
V29032 Private MATTHEWS, R.G

SOUTH PILLAR:

THESE MEMORIAL GATES
WERE ERECTED IN MEMORY OF THOSE WHO MADE THE SUPREME SACRIFICE IN THE GREAT WAR 1914 - 1918.

Note: 9/3/2008.

The two bronze plaques are mounted on the two supporting Lilydale sandstone pillars, both facing east. They were erected in 1949 to serve as the original entrance to the War Memorial. Dedicated to those who died in World War I. They replaced gates which deteriorated and required replacement.

Stained Glass Windows old St Stepehens Church Mt Waverley - 1959. Three stained glass windows containing memorial information. High Street Road, Mt. Waverley. Entrance from Norma Crt.

61D11

WINDOW 1:

TO THE GLORY OF GOD AND IN LOVING MEMORY OF MALVINA COLEMAN SHE LIVED TO SERVE

GIVEN BY HER HUSBAND AND SON. DEDICATED BY FREDERICK WALDERGRAVE HEAD ARCHBISHOP OF MELBOURNE. OCTOBER 1ST 1959.

WINDOW 2:

TO.THE.GLORY.OF.
GOD AND.IN.THE.
MEMORY. OF.THE.PIONEERS
.OF.THIS.CHURCH

DEDICATED.BY.THE.
RIGHT.REV.J.J. BOOTH
AUGUST 11TH.1940

WINDOW 3:

THOSE.WHO.GAVE THEIR.LIVES

J.ALCOCK.
B.ATKINSON.
F.T.BENNETT.
E.CORNELL.
W.R.DOOLAN.
S.E.HORE.

THOSE.WHO. SERVED.

K.C.BENNINGTON.
C.CORNELL.
L.R.DUNIZE.
H.R.HORE.
W.MUNYARD.
R.B.SMITH.
J.J.TURNER.
BRYCE-PEARCE.

TO.THE.GLORY.OF.GOD.&.IN.HONOUR.OF.THE.MEN.OF.ST.STEPHENS CHURCH.MOUNT.WAVERLEY.WHO.SERVED.AND. SOME.WHOM.MADE.THE.SUPREME.SACRIFICE.DURING .THE.GREAT.WAR.1914-1919

PRO.DEO.PRO.ECCLESIA.PRO.PATRIA.

Note, 6/3/2008:

Permmision to view should be gained from St Stephens Church.

Old St. Stephens was the first church built in Waverley and is now the oldest standing church building in Waverley. It is built from hand-made bricks and contains three memorial windows dedicated to pioneers of the district and those who served in World War I.

Mimosa Primary School, Glen Waverley, PAst Principals - 1994. A mahogany stained timber board with gold painted lettering. Now held at Waverley Historical Society clubrooms. Passed on to WHS by past caretaker, Norm Barry.

70E1

MIMOSA PAST PRINCIPALS

1973-6 F.T. Holmes
1977-8 D.R. Williams
1979 N.M. Ainsworth
1980-3 R.A Crawford
1988- B.G. Gosling (Acting)
1989-94 J.G. Ragas

MIMOSA PRIMARY SCHOOL VOLUNTARILY CLOSED ON 22-12-94

Note, 5/11/2008:
Listing all principals of the school from 1973 to 1994. This plaque, along with other memorabilia was donated to Waverley Historical Society by Mr. Norm Barry, former caretaker of the school.

Originally hung near the school office.

He added a small engraved metal plaque:
Donated by the Barry Family

Mimosa Primary School, Glen Waverley, opeing of teh school - 1973 A silver steel plaque with recessed, white letters. Now held by the Waverley Historical Society and housed in the rooms, Miller Cres, Mt Waverley

70E1

MIMOSA PRIMARY SCHOOL

THIS SCHOOL WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED ON THE 27TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 1973 BY MR. G.P. HAYES, M.P.

Note, 9/4/2008:
The plaque was removed on the closure of the school and kept safely until handed to Waverley Historical Society for safekeeping.

Originally placed at the school to commemorate the official opening of the school in 1973.

Morrie Silk Memorial & Plaque, Riversdale Golf Club - 2001 A bronze memorial plaque with bronze lettering mounted on a sandstone pedestal. It is located in the grounds of Riversdale Golf Course, entrance from Huntingdale Road.

On the north side off the third tee just near pathway.

61A11

IN MEMORY OF

MORRIE SILK

CAPTAIN     1988 - 1990

PRESIDENT 1998 - 1999

THE RIVERSDALE GOLF CLUB

FOUNDATION

2001

Note, 20/2/2008:

Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club. Placed in 2001.

Note, 9/6/2008:
Morrie Silk was club captain and president of Riversdale Golf Club between the years 1988 and 1999. He died in December 1999.

Morrie Silk was the father of police officer Sergeant Gary Silk who, with Senior Constable Rod Miller was shot during a robbery stake-out at Moorabbin on August 16, 1998.

Mt. Waverley Railway Station, Premium Station - 1995. A silver metal plaque with recessed, black letters mounted on a rectangular, timber base. The plaque is fixed to the wall to the right of the ticket office, at the waiting room and entrance to the south platform, entry from Hamilton Place.

70E2

Melbourne's First Premium Station

The honourable Alan Brown
Minister for Public Transport

Officially launched Mount Waverley Station as the Met's first Premium Station

Wednesday, 18 January, 1995
The Met

Note, 21/3/2008:

Erected to commemorate the opening of the new rooms at Mt. Waverley station as Melbourne's first Met Premium Station.

Mt. Waverley State School, (1906) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, gold letters set into the footpath. Park Lane, Mt. Waverley, west side south of William St.

Note: 13/2/2008: located directly opposite the intersection of  Park Lane with Kemp Avenue.

70D3

THE MT. WAVERLEY STATE SCHOOL

"On 24 April, 1906, Mt. Waverley State School opened on its present site with thirty-five pupils, reaching a maximum enrolment of 1141 in 1968. The original building comprised a timber schoolroom and porch, the first Head Teacher being Mr. Jonas Key."

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the students of Mt. Waverley Primary School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 13/2/2008:
By 1901, there was mounting pressure by locals in the central part of the shire to have a school, but a suggested site to be donated by John Peggie was rejected.

In 1904 another deputation successfully persuaded the education minister to act and two acres of Closter's back paddocks was obtained. Five years later overcrowding caused lessons to be taken in the shelter shed.

In 1905, on a two acre site donated by residents, the Education Department built a school. A new room was added in 1912.

By the time extensions were being done in early 1914, some classes were being taught at nearby 'Horty' Hall.  From 1953 the population increased until there were 1141 children on the roll in 1968.

Note: 15/10/2008. The laneway which once led from Waverley Road, north to the school can still be seen.
Note 2/12/2008:
New buildings on the site were completed during the last term of 2008.

Mulgrave Presbytarian Church, Wheelers Hill (1891) - 1985. Mulgrave Presbytarian Church, Wheelers Hill (1891) - 1985. Ferntree Gully Rd, north side, west of Lum Road, Wheelers Hill.

Note: 10/2/2008.

On the footpath directly in front of the old hall.

71F9

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH

The Mulgrave Presbyterian Church was opened on the 19th July 1891 by Reverend A. Yule. On this day, two services were held with one hundred and fifty people attending each. The cost of the building amounted to 173.18.2

Placed as part of the Victorian 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the students of the Wheelers Hill High School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 10/2/2008:
Opened is 1891 in a small weatherboard hall which still forms part of the church complex. The old church has been moved back twice because of a road widening and now forms a part of a modern complex.

With the decision to widen Ferntree Gully Rd and create a northern service road, the old weatherboard building was moved back from the roadway to its present spot. (Date moved - unknown, possibly c. 1975-80?)

Old Shire Offices, Notting Hill, (1921) - 1985.  A bronze plaque with raised, gold letters set into the footpath. Ferntree Gully Road, Mt. Waverley, south side west of Blackburn Road.

Note 13/2/2008: Located adjacent to the eastern boundary of Monash Administrative Offices, 20 metres west of Blackburn Rd.

70G8

THE OLD SHIRE OFFICES, (NOTTING HILL)

"This plaque commemorates the site of the Notting Hill Shire offices which were on this corner of Ferntree Gully Road and May Road (now Blackburn Road). The land was purchased for 400 and the offices opened in 1921."

Placed as part of Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Monash High School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 13/2/2008:
The establishment of the Shire offices at Notting Hill on Ferntree Gully Rd had a long history. Moves to move the Council centre from Oakleigh had been made between 1908 and 1914, but none succeeded. Even the proposal to move the Oakleigh buildings and the drawing up of plans for a new building on the site, all failed.

By 1920, it was revealed that the cost for a Shire building on the Notting Hill site would cost 12 hundred pounds. Because of shortages in bricks and timber, progress on the new building was slow, but the foundation stone was laid in August, 1920. Power was connected to the building in June 1926.

By 1959, the building was gone, to be replaced by a petrol station.

Original Waverley Township site, Mt Waverley. A polished, granite stone plaque with recessed lettering. Plus map. Located on the corner  Charles and Portsmouth Streets, Mt. Waverley, (south east corner).

Note: 21/2/2008. Opposite the main entrance to Avila College, Charles Street.

61F12

CITY OF MONASH

This site is part of the original Waverley Township subdivision created by Dr. J. Silverman in 1854 (refer to plan). Portions of the original township pattern were lost when the railway line passed through the area in 1930.

The land comprised two gullies and stringy bark ranges. A remnant gully with indigenous vegetation can be found at the High Street Road/Stephensons Road intersection.

In naming the area, Dr. Silverman drew upon the novel "Waverley" by Sir Walter Scott. The large estate described in the novel comprised pleasant forested areas and lush gullies. In the novel, Waverley was associated with, "peace and stability, for social and political cohesion and harmony."

The street names chosen by Dr. Silverman reflected the Jacobite period of the story. Waverley was the municipalities name from 1961-1994 and the name is retained in the suburbs of Mt. Waverley and Glen Waverley.

Note, 21/2/2008:

See also marker 4, south east corner of High Street and Stephensons Roads.

This site was originally intended to be the site of a township bearing the name "Waverley". Dr. Silverman who bought the land in 1854 had grand plans. However, the scheme did not eventuate.

Pilot Officer Bruce Hislop, Riversdale Golf Club - 1941. A bronze memorial plaque with recessed lettering set into the end of a stone seat. Located on the north side of the time- keepers hut near the 1st tee.

61A11

IN LOVING MEMORY OF

PILOT OFFICER BRUCE ELWELL HISLOP

KILLED IN AIR COMBAT ENGLAND
18 SEPT 1941

ERECTED BY HIS PARENTS & SISTERS
PER AROUA AD ASTRA

Note, 20/2/2008:
Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club.

Bruce Hislop, a member of Riversdale Golf Club was killed on active duty during World War II.

Pilot Officer Leonard G Sellars, Riversdale Golf Club - 1943 A brass plaque with recessed lettering. Located on a memorial seat in the grounds of Riversdale Golf Course

61A11

Erected by his wife and parents

in loving memory of Pilot Officer Leonard G Sellars
Killed on active service in England

22 July 1942

Note, 20/2/2008:
Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club.

Pilot Officer Leonard G Sellars, member of Riversdale Golf Club was killed on active duty during World War II.

Private F.C. Ross, memorial plaques, Mt Waverley Two bronze plaques with raised bronze lettering set into a conrete base at ground level Located at teh base of a Eucalyptus tree, east of Blackburn Rd, north of the freeway - at the intersection of England Rd with Blackburn Rd near the Monash Freeway

60J6

ORIGINAL PLAQUE

F.C. ROSS

2700 E 12TH BATT

CRB PLAQUE

COUNTRY ROADS BOARD

THIS TREE WAS PLANTED TO COMMEMORATE F.C.ROSS

KILLED IN ACTION IN FRANCE IN 1917 THE ORIGINAL PLAQUE WAS UNEARTHED HERE DURING ROAD CONSTRUCTION IN 1974.

Historical Notes, 3/3/2008
A memorial to Pte. Frank Colin Ross, killed in action on 25 February 1917. The original plaque was uncovered in 1974 during road works for the Monash Freeway. In 2006 VicRoads made repairs to the original concrete setting made by Country Roads Board and set the two plaques ona wider concrete base.

The Australian War Memorial "First World War Nominal Roll", lists a private Frank Colin Ross (5761) of the 12th Battalion who was Killed in Action on 25 February 1917. However, his service number is listed by the AWM as 5761 and not 2700. There may be an error here in either the AWM Roll or the original bronze plaque.

Prows Family & Property, Mt.Waverley - 1990. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering set into the footpath. On the footpath outside the original house, 89 Stanley Avenue, Mt. Waverley,  west side, close to Ferntree Gully Rd.

70B7

THE PROWD FAMILY

This plaque marks the place where William Prowd decided to settle.

William (1817 - 1901). A gentleman farmer from Armagh, Northern Ireland and his wife Mary (nee Doolan 1818 - 1897) arrived in Victoria in 1851. William purchased land in the Parish of Mulgrave north of Ferntree Gully Road from the crown in 1853. His family consisted of five sons and a daughter, the sons assisting on the farm.

William, a devout Anglican, helped to initiate a Sunday School at the Oakleigh Church of England and petitioned for the establishment of the Oakleigh State School.

Charles, (fourth son) and his wife Elizabeth (nee Christie) opened up a gravel pit and continued to farm their portion of the property. After the sale of several acres, they donated land for a private road known as Stanley Avenue to provide access to new residents. For over a century 65 acres remained in the ownership of the Prowd family.

Placed by the City of Waverley on 25 November  1990.
Cr. T. M. Heffernan JP
Mayor

Historical note, 14/2/2008:


The Prowd family (AKA. Prout) from Ireland were amongst the first landowners in the Mulgrave-Oakleigh district. William and Mary bought land north of Ferntree Gully Road in 1853 and set about farming with his children.

Riversdale Golf Club, Centenary Year - 1992. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering set into a small, concrete base. The plaque commemorates the planting of a Copper Beech tree in 1992. Located just off pathway heading towards the first tee on the east side under tree.

61A11

RIVERSDALE

GOLF CLUB

PLANTED IN

THE CENTENARY YEAR 1992

COPPER BEECH

FAGUS SYLVATICA PURPUREA

Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club.

Note, 9/6/2008:
Riversdale Golf Club had its beginning during the early part of October 1892 & can proudly claim to be the second oldest Golf Club in Victoria - only Royal Melbourne has a marginally longer history.

Originally formed as Surrey Hills Golf Club the Club was located at Mont Albert some 6 kilometres north of its present location. In 1907 the club moved to Camberwell and a short time later changed its name to Riversdale Golf Club, retaining this name when it moved to the present location at St. Johns Wood, Mount Waverley in May 1927.

From its early days as a country estate owned by Sir Redmond Barry (famous as the Judge who sentenced Ned Kelly to death) the property has been developed into what is undoubtedly one of the most picturesque golf courses in Victoria with numerous varieties included in the thousands of trees which line the Clubs fairways and providing a testing challenge for even the straightest of hitters.

Riversdale's first Clubhouse building consisted of Sir Redmond Barry's original home together with additions carried out during 1927/1928. The larger ground floor rooms of the homestead were left basically intact but the roof was raised to enable addition of upstairs rooms and the existing basement was excavated further to provide locker room accommodation. The renovated Clubhouse was featured in the Australian Home Beautiful magazine during a 1929 series on golf clubs of Victoria and copies of the article are on display in the existing Clubhouse. The building remained in this form until further alterations were completed in 1955 with the addition of the current Bar.

Further additions were completed in 1988 with provision of improved administration facilities, a new entrance to the building and major alterations made to the Clubs liquor storage area. Toilets were installed adjacent to the Lounge and Dining Room together with extensive upgrading of the Kitchen facilities which service the excellent dining facilities available.

Although altered three times over the years, the Clubhouse remains on its original site and still contains considerable portions of the original homestead purchased with the property in 1927 and thus serves as a tangible part of the continuing history of Riversdale Golf Club.

Rostrum Tree Planting, Jells Park - 1984. A bronze plaque with raised lettering. Jells Park, to the east of the main driveway in from Waverley Rd and about 250 metres to the north east of the main Visitors' Centre/Cafe building.  Located beneath a tree.

72A6

ROSTRUM VICTORIA GOLDEN JUBILEE

This Angophora commemorates Victorian Rostrum's Golden Jubilee

"I promise not to be silent when I ought to speak."

Note, 21/3/2008:
Placed to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of the organisation.

Rostrum is an Australian organisation made up of small clubs situated throughout the country. Members help each other to increase their confidence and improve their speaking skills in a warm, friendly and co-operative environment.

Jells Park Picnic Shelter, Rotary - 1996. A pressed metal plaque with white painted lettering. Jells Park, entrance road from Waverley Rd, immediately east of the road and approximately 250 metres north of the main Visitors' Centre/Cafe block.

72A6

This picnic shelter is a joint project of the ROTARY CLUB OF GLEN WAVERLEY AND MELBOURNE PARKS & WATERWAYS

Original concept and design by MELBOURNE PARKS & WATERWAYS

Constructed and financed by ROTARY CLUB OF GLEN WAVERLEY

Officially opened March 1st, 1996

Note, 21/3/2008:
Placed to commemorate the joint project by Rotary club of Glen Waverley and Melbourne Parks & Waterways to erect a public picnic shelter.

Rotary Club of Glen Waverley:
Founded in 1972 through the sponsorship of the Rotary Club of Waverley.  The club began with 34 foundation members, with Bill Pratt as the Club President.  The Village Green Hotel was the venue for the foundation meeting and has been the venue for all meetings since, apart from a short period of time when the hotel underwent extensive renovations.

The club members have funded and organised many projects, such as the transport and restoration of a relocated old house to the Glen Waverley Secondary Collage Camp at Nayook, built and furnished CARA (a house for young girls), and the construction of an Abbeyfield house, (a residence for elderly people).  The club has also built three shelters at Jells Park and has hosted a number of exchange students from around the world.  The club has also sponsored secondary college students to attend the National Youth Science Forum and the Model United Nations Assemblies and has supported many other community activities.

Scotchman's Creek Linear Park, Mt Waverley, section opening - 1988. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering set on a honeycomb rock. Located on the east side of Crosby Drive, north of Stableford Avenue. Located at the commencement of the bike/walking track.

70K3

Scotchmans Creek Linear Park

A Bicentennial Commemorative Project

Development of this section of Linear Park

Was jointly funded by the Commonwealth,

Victorian and Local Governments.

Project Management  Construction Agency

City of Waverley

AUSTRALIA'S BI-CENTENNARY, 1788-1988.

Note: 12/3/2008.
The plaque is set into a honeycomb rock and faces south-west, close to the eastern footpath.

The Blackburn Rd to Waverley Rd section of the Linear Park, following Scotchmans Creek was completed as part of the 1988 Bicentennial celebrations.

Scotchman's Creek Run, Mt. Waverley (1840) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. Huntingdale Rd, Mt. Waverley, east side, south of Waverley Rd.

Note: 13/2/2008
Located in front of Contessa Receptions.

70A3

THE SCOTCHMAN'S CREEK RUN, 1840

In January 1840, John McMillan, the Scotchman, leased 5 square miles of country, (1,296 hectares) around the creek which drains into that part of Gardiner's (or Allen's or Kooyong Koot) Creek flowing through the north-west corner of Waverley. Historian Susan Priestly, described The Scotchman's Creek Run (1840) "Begin on the creek where it comes closest to Dandenong Rd at Oakleigh, the line would  go along Dandenong Rd to Wellington Rd to Springvale Rd, north along Springvale Rd - to Waverley Rd and back along Waverley Rd to the high ridge above the creek."

The rolling country with "good pasture, moderately timbered with gum and box" soon nurtured many runs such as "Corhanwarrabul", "Tirhatuan", "Bushy Park" and "Allen's Creek". In 1894, the banks of Scotchman's Creek were damaged by gold diggers and later by highway and freeway.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Wesley College, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Note: 6/3/2008:
The plaque contains an incorrect spelling of Priestley.

Historical note, 8/3/2008:
John McMillan leased, in January 1940, five square miles of land around Scotchman's Creek. This was later sold to a Dutchman named Van Amstel.

Sir Redmond Barry's Country Estate "Syndal" (1869) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. High Street Rd, north side, west of Lawrence Rd, Mt. Waverley. 61H12

"SYNDAL"

Sir Redmond Barry, KCMG, Chief Justice of Victoria named the property, 'Syndal' and lived here from 1869 - 1880. Syndal was developed as a country estate producing many fruits, herbs, flowers, vegetables and grapes, eventually giving its name to the area.

Placed as part of Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Syndal High School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS.

Historical note 13/2/2008:
From July 1869, Sir Redmond Barry planted fruit trees and vegetables on this estate thus becoming one of the pioneer orchardists in the area. The name "Syndal", meaning sunny dale, was another of the legacies he left to Waverley.

It is doubtful if it could be said the Barry "lived here".  It is more likely that he stayed on the property for some period of time on numerous occasions.

Note: Located in front of "The Oaks" residential development (formerly the Colman property), 547 High Street Rd, 100 metres west of Lawrence Rd.

Historical Note, 9/6/2008:
Redmond Barry (1813–1880)

Sir Redmond Barry is perhaps the best known of Melbourne’s early legal practitioners. Although he neither studied nor taught at the University of Melbourne, he was a central figure in the University's early history. 

Barry was born in Ireland in 1813. He graduated from Trinity College, Dublin, and was admitted to the Irish Bar in 1838.

Arriving in Melbourne in 1839, Barry was soon an active member of Melbourne’s legal community.  He was appointed Solicitor General of the newly founded colony of Victoria in 1851 and Judge of the Supreme Court of Victoria in 1852. He was the judge at the trial of Ned Kelly in 1880.

Barry also had a key role in the creation of some of Melbourne's oldest cultural institutions, including the State Library of Victoria, the National Gallery of Victoria and the University of Melbourne. As the University's founding Chancellor, he took the leading role in the establishment of its first law course in 1857.

Barry died in 1880 and is buried near the University, in the Melbourne General Cemetery.

St Leonard's Catholic Church, Glen Waverley 1906 - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. Springvale Rd, Glen Waverley, west side, south of Waverley Rd.  South of the main entrance to Central Reserve.

71C5

ST. LEONARD'S CATHOLIC CHURCH, 1913.

This plaque commemorates the site of the first St. Leonard's Catholic Church in Glen Waverley, 1913.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the students of St. Leonard's Catholic Primary School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 10/2/2008:
St. Leonards was opened as a country outpost of the Oakleigh parish.   Built in 1913, the building was later moved in 1956, north, along Springvale Rd to the site of the new St Leonard's Centre.

St. Stephens Church & Common School, Mt. Waverley. (1865) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. High Street Rd, north side, west of Alice St, Mt. Waverley.

61D11

ST. STEPHEN'S CHURCH, MT. WAVERLEY

Designed by Nathaniel Billing and built by William Weir with bricks baked from local clay by William Stevenson, it was licensed by Bishop Perry 9/7/1865, and opened for divine service 23/7/1865, the first service being conducted by Rev. T.C. Cole. A Common School was established, 1866-7.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Ashwood High School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 13/2/2008:
This was the first church built in Waverley and is now the oldest standing church building in Waverley. It is built from hand-made bricks and contains a memorial window (1914-1918). This now known as St. Stephen & St Mary following the incorporation of the St Mary's Parish.

Stott familyproperty, Wheelers Ridge,Wheelers Hill - 1973. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering fixed to a bluestone retaining wall adjacent to the footpath. On private property, 10 Alex Avenue, Wheelers Hill, west side. Viewed from the footpath.

71J8

WHEELERS RIDGE

This plaque was placed here on

2nd October, 1973

by

John Aubrey Stott

To honour the pioneering owners

of this property

1854 – 1973

Historical Note, 17/2/2008:
Placed to mark the ownership of the surrounding land by Sidney T. Stott.

Stott was the owner of Stott's Business School, Melbourne.

This large property was bought by Sidney T. Stott from John Wheeler in 1854 - in total, 246 acres and was named "Elinora".  In 1916, Sidney Stott planted 100 acres with 10,000 fruit trees apples with 7000 being various varieties of apples and 2000 being pear trees. After returning from WWI, his son, Aubrey improved on the orchards using early mechanised means, such as tractors, a grader and high powered pumps. He also built a large cool store on the property and employed modern methods to obtain heavy cropping.

Syndal Primary School, Opening of Art & Craft Centre - 1970. A bronze plaque with recessed white letters. Now held by the Waverley Historical Society and housed in the Society’s rooms, Miller Crescent, Mt Waverley.

61E1

SYNDAL PRIMARY SCHOOL

I.D. HISLOCK AND A.C. RAPHAEL

ART AND CRAFT CENTRE

THIS CENTRE WAS ERECTED BY THE PARENTS AND FRIENDS  OF THE SCHOOL IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT, AND WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED ON 28TH DAY OF JULY, 1970, BY MR. F.H. BROOKS, M. SC., DIP. ED., F.R.A.C.I., F.A.C.E., DIRECTOR-GENERAL OF EDUCATION.

Note, 9/4/2008:
Placed originally when the school's Art and Craft Centre was officially opened in 1970.

This plaque was removed from the school when it was closed and forwarded to Waverley Historical Society for storage and safekeeping.

Syndal Primary School, Library Opening - 1965. A bronze coated steel plaque with recessed white lettering. Now held by the Waverley Historical Society and housed in the Society’s rooms, Miller Crescent, Mt Waverley.

61E1

THIS LIBRARY WAS ERECTED FOR THE STUDENTS OF THE SYNDAL STATE SCHOOL BY THE PARENTS AND FRIENDS OF THE SCHOOL IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT, AND WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED BY THE ASSISTANT MINISTER OF EDUCATION THE HONOURABLE J.F. ROSSITER, M.P., ON THE 28TH DAY OF MAY, 1965. Note, 9/4/2008:
Located originally inside the school library building to mark the opening of the library in 1965.

This sign was removed from its original location and placed in the care of Waverley Historical Society.

Tait's Post Office & Store, Mt.Waverley (1905) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering set into the footpath. Stephensons Road, east side, Mt Waverley Shopping centre.

Note, 14/2/2008: Located on the traffic island between the south bound lane of Stephensons Rd and the carpark. Midway between Waimarie Drive and The Highway.

This current location is approximately 100 metres south of the actual site of the store which is where the Christian Science Reading Room now is.

70E1

TAIT'S STORE

The site of the first Post Office Store in Mt. Waverley, operated from 1906 to 1944 by Mrs. Tait and her daughters, Blair and Lily, who lived on the adjoining property, "Waimarie".

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the students of Huntingtower School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 14/2/2008:
Because the district was not allowed to have a full post office, in 1905, Mrs. Tait who lived at "Waimarie" in Stephensons Road was offered a stamp-selling licence and on a 'trial basis' a loose mail bag was taken from Mrs. Tait's on Tuesdays.

From her little store, she began stocking sweets, exercise books and pencils. Blair and Lily Tait kept the store running until 1944 and customers summoned the women from the house by ringing a small bell.

Tally Ho Hotel & Race Track, Burwood East, (1877) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze lettering set into the footpath. Highbury Road, south-west corner of Blackburn Road, Burwood East. 61K9

THE TALLY HO INN AND RACE TRACK

Before 1875, this district was known as Harkaway or Tally Ho. When licensee Fred Jones re-named his Inn the "Tally Ho", the settlers adopted that name in which one can still hear the echoes of their horses & hounds, & of the hunts or the paper chases when the foxes were not available. The race track, opened in 1893 and adjoining the Inn along Highbury Road, boasted a carnival meeting featuring foot and horse racing and buckjumping for some 2000 spectators on Easter Monday, 1899.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley by the Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 11/12/2008:
From c.1864 there had been a store on the North Boundary (Highbury) Road - Blackburn Rd corner diagonally opposite the new school on the north east corner. In 1871, Frederick Jones got a licence to open a hotel adjoining the store.

After 1885, for a time, the Tally Ho Hotel was de-licensed but within a few years, Alexander Hunter, a builder was able to buy it. In 1890, it re-opened again.

Hunter also began the Tally Ho Race track in 1898.  On Easter Monday, 1899, 2000 people turned up for the carnival.

Thomas Evans Doughton, Riversdale Golf Club. A bronze wall-mounted plaque with raised bronze lettering. Located on wall outside Pro-Shop under the clock. 61A11

A TRIBUTE

TO THE MEMORY OF

THOMAS EVANS DOUGHTON

WHO SERVED THE CLUB SO WELL
CAPTAIN 1929

PRESIDENT 1935 – 1947

Note, 20/2/2008:
Permission to view should be gained from Riversdale Golf Club.

Placed to honour Thomas Doughton (b. 1888) who was Captain and President of Riversdale Golf Club between 1929 and 1947.

Thomas Napier & Madeline Scott, Glen Waverley (1839) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters. High Street Road, Glen Waverley, south side, west of Dandenong Creek, near the entrance to Napier Park.

Note: 10/2/2008.

The plaque is located 20 metres to the east of the main entrance to Napier Park within an area of native plantings.

71J11

THOMAS NAPIER AND MADELINE SCOTT:

FIRST EUROPEAN SETTLERS.

Thomas Napier, a skilled builder and entrepreneur came from Van Diemen's Land to the early settlement on the Yarra.

In October 1839, he began squatting here on Dandenong Creek with cattle bought from overlanders, Watson and McLean. He built his hut somewhere in Jells Park. In 1841, he sold the run to Alexander and Madeline Scott. Alexander died soon after. Madeline, with the courage and resourcefulness typical of pioneer women, caused this run which she named "Bushy Park" to prosper, supplying meat and dairy products to the shopkeepers of Collingwood. In 1844 she sold "Bushy Park" to the Drew brothers, taking up a second leasehold on the other side of this creek.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the Council, Spring, 1985

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 9/6/2008:
Thomas Napier was born in 1802 in Scotland. He was the son of James Napier, a weaver from Montrose and Margaret Suttor. He had a number of jobs in Scotland, working as a clerk and training as a carpenter. He also received a couple of years of training as an artist.

In 1832 he left Britain with his business partner John Brown (who was later to build "Como" house in South Yarra). They arrived in Hobart Town in the same year and commenced work on the construction of several buildings.

In 1836 he married Jessie Paterson, who had arrived in Hobart Town earlier that year also from Scotland.

Mr. Napier was dissatisfied with conditions in Hobart and Van Diemen's land and in 1837 sailed for the settlement at Melbourne. This was only two years after the first permanent settlement on the Yarra River by parties of settlers organised by John Batman and John Pascoe Fawkner.

When Napier arrived in Melbourne no land had yet been made available for purchase and most of the structures in the area were still temporary, constructed using "wattle and daub". In the first land sale in Melbourne he purchased a half acre allotment in Collins Street for 20 pounds. In a subsequent sale a few months later he purchased another quarter acre allotment (also for 20 pounds). He built a "wattle and daub" cottage on one of the sites and continued with his building business.

At around the same time he also settled on land in the vicinity of Jells Park on the Dandenong creek (as a "bona fide squatter"). In April of 1842 he had the misadventure of being stuck-up by two bushrangers on Dandenong Road, which was quite a novelty at that time in that location. One of the bushrangers was later shot and the other hanged.

In 1839, he "squatted" on this land but was unimpressed with the lack of pasture for his animals and sold to Alexander Scott.

Scott soon died and left his resilient wife, Madeline to look after their children and run the property which they had named "Bushy Park". After taking on partners, Mrs. Scott moved on, leaving the surviving partners, the Drew brothers to run the property.

 He was not satisfied with the nature of the pasture at Dandenong and in 1845 purchased 100 acres of land on Moonee Ponds Creek from E. J. Brewster, in the area now known as Strathmore and built the house "Rosebank". Members of the Napier family lived on this land into the 1920's (apart from some lengthy overseas trips to Scotland by both Thomas and Theodore Napier).

In 1859 Thomas Napier left Melbourne for England and Scotland. He returned in 1860 however his eldest son Theodore remained in Scotland to complete his education.

Thomas Napier was made a Justice of the Peace in 1860. He also had the honour of laying the Foundation Stone of the Pascoe Vale National School (c. 1850) which was located adjacent to Moonee Ponds Creek where Five Mile Creek enters. (The Pascoe Vale National School was sold in the early 1860's and the students relocated to the new Essendon Common School in Raleigh Street, Essendon, the current site of Essendon Primary School.)

Thomas died in 1881 leaving his wife, Jessie, his son Theodore, and daughter, Eleanor Barber. Thomas Napier can truly be described as an early pioneer in the Port Phillip District and Strathmore.

On the death of Thomas Napier his land was divided between Theodore and his wife, Jessie.

Shire of Mulgrave, Toll Gates, Ashwood (1868) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. High Street Road, Ashwood, south side, east of Warrigal Road.

Note: 13/2/2008. Located several metres east of the High Street Road entrance to Safeway.

60H10

THE TOLL GATES

Toll gates with the toll-keepers' houses were erected on Dandenong Road in 1864, on Breakneck Road (later Waverley Road) in 1866 and at this site in 1868. The toll was expensive: variously 6 pence or 12 pence per passage. Traffic was heavy, one Dandenong Road collected 1235 ($2470), in 1870. Tolls, like any tax, were never popular, were regularly avoided or grudgingly surrendered. Toll keepers, too, were the frequent butt of practical jokes, but the extent of the road use demonstrates their importance to the community.

Placed as part of Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 9/6/2008:
In January 1857, the Oakleigh and Mulgrave District Roads Board was formed to raise money and turn theoretical roads into practical routes for coaches and carts and drays and bullock teams and horses and pedestrians. In fact no one could be persuaded to stand for election to the Roads Board until 1860. After that some progress was made in forming roads. Mainly the Roads Board relied on Government grants and income from the toll gates set up along the main roads.

The local Road Board was given a share of tolls from the district and much of this was spent in collecting and burning dead trees and logs which cluttered the tracks. Travellers tried to evade the toll gates by finding tracks around them. In 1874 an Act of Parliament decreed the gradual phasing out of all toll gates and those in High Street Road and Waverley Road were dismantled in 1876.

Town Common, High Street Rd, Glen Waverley (1861-1906) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. High Street Rd, Mt. Waverley, south side, west of Rose Street.

Note: 11/2/2008. 
It is located adjacent to the eastern boundary fence of Wesley College, 70 m west of Rose St.

61A12

THE TOWN COMMON : 1861 - 1906

These 65 hectares (160 acres) immediately south and west to Blackburn Road, were proclaimed common in 1861 for the townspeople's working horses, bullocks and household cows. The flat ground, a favourite picnic and sporting spot for the Muir, Seller, Pepperell and Mullens families, became in 1906 a specialist apple orchard and market garden until acquired by Wesley College, 1955 to 1959.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Wesley College, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 11/2/2008:
A town common was established in this area on the south side of High Street Road and extending west to Blackburn Road. It was one of several in the Shire of Mulgrave. Here, local farmers and growers were able to rest their horses and other farm animals.

Town Common, Waverley Rd, Mt Waverley (1861) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, gold letters set into the footpath. Forster Road, west side, cnr Waverley Rd, Mt. Waverley. 61F4

THE TOWN COMMON, 1861

Early in 1861, the town common was proclaimed on three unsold blocks: one in High Street Road on Gardiner's Creek between Huntingdale and Warrigal Roads, a second on High Street Road between Springvale and Blackburn Roads where Wesley College and the Syndal shops now stand, and this block in Waverley Road backing down to Scotchman's Creek between Forster and Stephenson's Roads. It provided for the townspeople's working horses, bullocks and household cows.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the Council, Spring, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 13/2/2008:
In addition to their own small farms the people looked to common land to provide extra grazing for their working animals. However, in the 1870s these blocks were sold and John Forster obtained the title to the common land at the corner Waverley and Forster Roads.

Township of "Waverley", Mt Waverley (1854) -1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the garden bed. Reserve – south East corner of Stephensons and High Street Rds, Mt. Waverley - south end adjacent to nearby housing units. 61E11

THE TOWNSHIP "WAVERLEY"

In 1864, Dr. Silverman, a Russian-born doctor purchased for 760, a quarter-mile block extending south and east from this intersection. This land he subdivided and named the "Township of Waverley", thus perpetuating his admiration for the works of the novelist, Sir Walter Scott.

Placed as part of the Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Mt. Waverley High School, Autumn, 1985.

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

See also marker 31  south east corner of Charles and Portsmouth Sts, Mt Waverley.

Note:  13/2/2008.
The small, square stick-on logo for Victoria 150 has been lost from the top right-hand corner of the plaque.

Historical note, 13/2/2008:
Dr Silverman, a Russian by birth, bought land at this corner for 760 pound. He had arrived in 1852 and later surveyed and subdivided his property, calling it "Waverley" and he hoped to encourage a township to grow here. His grand vision didn't come to pass until much later when suburban development caught up. However, the name "Waverley" survived in peoples' minds.

Footbridge, Valley Reserve, Mt. Waverley - 1977. A triangular shaped bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters. Entrance from the corner of Waimarie Drive and Wills Ave, Mt. Waverley. 

Note: 29/2/2008. The plaque is located across the footbridge, approximately 100 m. from the entrance to the park. To the left of the main access road in the park - eastern end of the bridge.

70G2

THIS BRIDGE

WAS CONSTRUCTED BY

APEX CLUB OF WAVERLEY AND

OPENED BY COUNCILLOR L. M. RYAN  MAYOR,

CITY OF WAVERLEY ON 11 DECEMBER, 1977

Note, 29/2/2008:

Commemorating the opening of the footbridge over the creek within Valley Reserve.

VicRoads - World Environment Day, Mt Waverley - 1990. A gold burnished plaque with recessed black lettering mounted on a honeycomb rock. On the embankment on the Ferntree Gully Rd on-ramp to the Monash Freeway. Entrance to the on-ramp is from the south side of Ferntree Gully Rd, west of Springvale Rd. 71A8

VIC ROADS

THIS PLANTATION WAS

ESTABLISHED TO COMMEMORATE

WORLD ENVIRONMENT DAY

5 JUNE 1990

Note, 21/3/2008:
Erected to commemorate World Environment Day and a stand of trees planted.

Access is only possible by stopping on the on-ramp to the freeway. There appears to be no access from the southern side of the embankment.

Visitors Centre Opening, Jells Park, Wheelers Hill, 1978. Three bronze plaques with raised bronze lettering. The three plaques are mounted on the brick wall on the western side (main entrance) to the building, Jells Park, entrance from Waverley Rd. 71K6

PLAQUE 1:
THIS PLAQUE COMMEMORATES THE OFFICIAL OPENING OF VISITORS CENTRE DANDENONG VALLEY METROPOLITAN PARK

BY THE HONOURABLE R. J. HAMER ED, MP
ON MAY 23, 1978

MELBOURNE AND METROPOLITAN BOARD OF WORKS

PLAQUE 2:
CHAIRMAN A.H. CROXFORD LLB
DEPUTY CHAIRMAN E.W. BEST CMG

COMMISSIONERS:
J.E. BOWN JP
G.R. BRICKER JP
J.K. BYRON JP
R.G. BYSOUTH JP
K.F. CHAMBERLIN JP
R.B. COMBEN JP
F.G. COX JP
P.F. DAVIES JP
D.W. BUMBRELL JP
B.S ELMS JP
F.J. FINN
F.G. FORD JP
W.J. FOSTER JP
A.M. GIBSON
A.G.E GILLON OBE, JP
D.K. GRANT JP
J.T. HARDING
M.G. HARDY
K.M.S. HOLLAND
J.B.JACKSON JP
D.C. JONES
R.F. JULIER
G.G. KERMONDE
P.T. LALOR
K.C. LEAR JP
A.A. MCCUTHEON
P.J. MCDOUGALL
R.W. MACEY
J.M. MCRAE
F.J. MADDERN
E.J. MARRIOTT
R.K MARSHALL
R.V. MEAGHER
J.W. MERCUS JP
V.R. MICHAEL JP
K.E. MILLER JP
A.E. MISSEN
K.G. MITCHELL
D.E. MUIR JP
K.V. NICHOLLS JP
W.N. OATES
G.D. O'CONNELL
A.R. PATTERSON MBE, JP
L.F. PAYNE OBE, JP
D. QUADARA
K.A.F READWIN
J.D. RYAN, JP
N.W. SMITH JP
W.H. TEW MBE, JP
W.R. WALTERS MBE, JP
I.G.N. WARNER
B.F WATERS
R.D. WHITE, JP
B.T. ZOUCH, JP
MAY 23, 1978

PLAQUE 3:
INAUGURAL DANDENONG VALLEY METROPOLITAN PARK ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MEMBER        REPRESENTING

COMMISSIONER L.F. PAYNE (CHAIRMAN) MMBW PLANNING COMMITTEE

COMMISSIONER P.F. DAVIES MMBW PLANNING COMMITTEE
COMMISSIONER W.H. TEW MMBW PLANNING COMMITTEE
MR. R.D. EGAN-LEE CITY OF KNOX
MR. J. HALFORD CITY OF WAVERLEY
MR. W. STEWART CITY OF NUNAWADING
MR. D.P. GAWLER CITY OF NUNAWADING
MR. A.C. ROBERTSON CITY OF RINGWOOD
MR. T.S.L. STITT CONSERVATION COUNCIL OF VICTORIA
MR. D. POWNEY DEPARTMENT OF YOUTH, SPORT AND RECREATION
MR. S.W. CALDER FORESTS COMMISSION OF VICTORIA
MR. A.M. COONEY MINES DEPARTMENT
MR. D. THOMPSON  DANDENONG VALLEY AUTHORITY
MR. B. PEYTON  COUNTRY ROADS BOARD VICTORIA
MR. H. G. THORPE  STATE ELECTRICITY COMMISSION OF VICTORIA
MR. G.P. HAYES  MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT
MR. D.W. SIMPSION  MMBW
MR. K. RASMUSSEN  MMBW
MR. T. ARTHUR  MMBW

Placed to commemorate the building and opening of the Visitors Centre in 1978.

Historical note, 9/6/2008:
Jells Park is at the hub of a network of parklands linked by the Dandenong Creek. Nestled in the heart of suburbia the park is abundant with native plants and wildlife and is a diverse recreation destination for the whole family - you can experience it all in Melbourne's backyard.

With over nine km of paths and trails, hectares of wide open spaces and picnic areas for everyone to enjoy.

Named after one of the first pioneer settlers in the area, Joseph Jell, the park has had an interesting history, being used for grazing, a piggery and even a storage area for the American Army during World War 2. Prior to European settlement, Aborigines from the Woiworung and Bunurong tribes lived on the land for over 30,000 years.

Jells Park was officially opened in April 1976 and is now one of the most popular parks in Melbourne catering for over 700,000 visitors

Waverley North Primary School - Opening of the Library, 1969. A bronze plated steel plaque  with recessed white letters. Now held by the Waverley Historical Society and housed in the rooms first floor Mt Waverley Library Miller Cres, Mt Waverley. 61E1

WAVERLEY NORTH STATE SCHOOL

THIS LIBRARY WAS ERECTED BY THE PARENTS AND FRIENDS OF THE SCHOOL IN CONJUNCTION WITH THE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT, AND WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED ON 26TH SEPTEMBER 1969

BY THE HON. L.H.S. THOMPSON. M.L.C., MINISTER OF EDUCATION.

Note, 9/4/2008:
Originally placed on the wall of the school's library when it was opened in 1969. The plaque was removed when the school was closed and the library was demolished. It was subsequently placed in the care of Waverley Historical Society.
Wesleyan Church, Black flat & School, Glen Waverley (1868) - 1985. A bronze plaque with raised, bronze letters set into the footpath. Waverley Road, Glen Waverley, south side, west of Springvale Road, near Bowling Club. 71B4

THE WESLEYAN CHURCH, BLACK FLAT

Site of the original Black Flat Wesleyan (later Glen Waverley Methodist) Church 1887-92 (used also as original Black Flat School) on land donated by James Colley, Class Leader.

Placed as part of Victoria 150 celebrations in the City of Waverley, by the students of Brentwood High School, Autumn, 1985

VICTORIA 150 CELEBRATIONS

Historical note, 17/11/2008:
James Colley was one of a number of settlers who bought land at Black Flat in the 1050s. By 1864 he was leader of a group of 12 Wesleyans nearby. In 1866, he first suggested that a meeting hall be built but it took over a year to gain permission from the Wesleyan circuit and then only if it cost less than 10 pounds to build! A small chapel with a shingle roof was in use as a school which became the focus of the district. It became a State School in 1872, until the new brick school was built and ready for use in 1880.

The small weatherboard chapel was the focus of community life and worship for many years until a new church was built in Springvale Road, at the corner of Kingsway in 1962.

Damper Creek - 40th Anniversary of FODC. Mt Waverley - 2008 A bronze metal plaque with raised bronze lettering recessed into a large honeycomb rock, supported on a log base. Damper Creek Reserve, at the northern end of Alice St, 50 metres to the west of the road, close to the bridge over the creek.

61E10

40 year Commemoration

On 26th September, 1988, a group of

concerned Waverley residents met and formed

"The Damper Creek Conservation

and Development Group"

their efforts helped preserve this bushland reserve

for future generations.

Erected in November, 2008 in recognition of their efforts

by the Friends of Damper Creek Reserve Inc.

Note, 8/12/2008:
The official dedication ceremony held at the site was on Sunday 30 Nov, 2008

Note re: F.O.D.C. Inc, 8/12/2008:
Damper Creek was probably a valuable food source for the traditional inhabitants of the area, the Wurundjeri. Later it was a rest place and water source for stockman.

Damper Creek Reserve played a small part in the building of St Stephen's Anglican Church in High Street Rd, Mt Waverley. The plans for the church were drawn up in 1864 and donations were requested to pay for the building. The congregation contacted a William Stevenson (Stephensons Road, a variation, was named after him), to bake the bricks and he obtained his clay from the crossfire of gullies around Damper Creek. The bricks were fired in a kiln built near the creek and the church members carried them up the hill.

Orchards, market gardens and farms soon surrounded the creek until after World War 2 when the city began to spread eastward.

Damper Creek and the surrounding bushland was saved by local residents from subdivision and road construction in 1969. Several local Councillors were elected on the platform of preserving the creek for public open space.

Urban development surrounded the Damper Creek "drain" and the area was infested with blackberries, ivy and other noxious weeds. Willow trees elevated the creek bed and the banks were eroding with the increasing volume of stormwater. The area was used as a dump for local resident's garden refuse and rubbish.

In the early 1990's circuit fitness equipment was put into the reserve but the area was often too boggy and not an attractive or safe place to run.

Bushland Restoration Project:
The Friends of Damper Creek Reserve was formed in April 1993. The Friends worked in conjunction with the then City of Waverley (now Monash Council) to begin a staged restoration of the creek.

The Council began the major engineering component to stabilise and reconstruct the creek bed and banks, while the Friends successfully applied to Melbourne Parks and Waterways (now Parks Victoria) for funding for plants. As well as planting and the general maintenance weeding the Friends have constructed the middle bridge known as "Palma's Plummet" and the boardwalk over the Bengal Crescent Tributary, put in the two noticeboards, erosion control sleepers, bench seats, fencing and the aquatic ponds in the compound.

The basalt rockwork in Damper Creek is not indigenous to the area but was chosen to stabilise the creek and as an attractive landscaping feature. Claystone is the indigenous rock, hence the history of brick making in the area.

The restoration work has occurred from Stephensons Rd to the junction with Damper Creek East near Alvie Hall. The project is now up to Stage 8 which terminates at the Riversdale Golf Course. In the future, restoration works may also occur along the remainder of Damper Creek East behind the Bowls Club and in Bellbird Corner (corner High Street Rd and Stephensons Rd, Mt Waverley).

Gen Sir John Monash - Bust & Plaque, Civic Centre - 1996. A bronze bust and small accompanying brass plaque. Inside the Foyer/Atrium of Monash Civic Centre, to the right of and in front of the Reception Desk, against a concrete pillar and facing the front doors. Sits on a marble table.

71C3

Sir John Monash

Cast from the original mould commissioned by the State Electricity Commission and presented to the City of Waverley by SEC Victoria in August 1996

To honour General Sir John Monash.

Historical Note, 19/12/2008:
General Sir John Monash

The City of Monash is named after a man regarded as one of Australia's greatest heroes. General Sir John Monash was a civil engineer and volunteer soldier who rose to the highest rank in the Australian Army by the end of World War 1.

His life and career represent the opportunity that Australia provides for migrants and their children to excel and contribute. He is a model of leadership, community service, and achievement for everybody living and working in the City of Monash today.

The Young Man

John Monash was born in West Melbourne in 1865 to immigrant Prussian parents, when the Victorian Colony was barely 30 years old and the population was just 40,000.

Monash's was one of the first Jewish families who arrived in Australia seeking refuge from terror, discrimination and poverty in Europe. In Melbourne, Jews had no work prohibitions. They entered Parliament in significant numbers, and they had educational opportunities and social freedom.

John Monash's story represents the extraordinary fortune of Australian Jewry.

Monash's father took the family to Jerilderie, N.S.W in 1875 to open a general store. This is possibly where the young boy began his life long appreciation for the Australian landscape and for the 'down to earth spirit' of the locals. Contrary to a story that he neither confirmed nor denied, Monash was not in Jerilderie in February 1878 when the Kelly gang came and terrorised the community and raided the bank vault. Monash may have held the Bushranger's horse on a previous occasion, but by 1878 he had returned to Melbourne with his mother and sisters to go to school. The suggestion that two of Australia's most famous personalities met is an intriguing historical possibility.

Monash was scholarly and particularly talented at mathematics. He matriculated at 14 and two years later he was equal Dux of Scotch College. At the University of Melbourne he studied Law, Engineering and Arts and became involved in broader cultural activities, such as debating, politics, theatre and journalism.

He co-founded the Melbourne University Union. Monash also painted and spoke French and German. He enjoyed chess, carpentry and bushwalking and was an accomplished pianist.

When his mother was dying he discontinued his studies to support his family and worked on the construction of Princes Bridge over the Yarra River. He eventually completed his university studies and in 1888 he assumed responsibility for construction of the Outer Circle railway, which terminated at Oakleigh. He also purchased property in the district beside the railway line.

In 1891 he married Hannah Victoria Moss, a charismatic woman with whom he had a turbulent relationship. They had one daughter, Bertha, two years later.

The Engineer

In 1891 Monash was employed by the Melbourne Harbour Trust and was retrenched during the 1894 depression. He then developed an enterprise with J.T. Noble Anderson specialising in civil, mining and mechanical engineering and patents. In 1905 Monash and associates formed Reinforced Concrete and Monier Pipe Construction Co Ltd. 

This company developed an expertise in reinforced concrete construction, yet another innovation that he embraced. Monash first faced failure, and then success, as a bridge builder, and as the director of a major concrete construction company.

The Soldier
Monash's time in the military began while at university, when he joined the 4th Battalion, Victorian Rifles. He was a volunteer, not a professional soldier. He rose through the ranks of the Militia, the reserve army.

At the outbreak of World War 1 he became the Chief Censor before taking command of the 4th Infantry Brigade. His career included command in Egypt and the landing at Gallipoli.

In France his unit played a significant role in breaking through enemy lines in 1918 at Amiens, and was decisive in the victories at the battles of Villiers-Bretonneux and Hamel which involved the collaboration of infantry, artillery, tanks and aircraft. Monash was credited with the success of the August 8 offensive on the Western Front, regarded as the crucial battle of World War 1. In a rare gesture by King George V he was knighted in the field in 1918.

As a military strategist General Monash was way ahead of his time. 

His approach was innovative and modern, informed by his civilian experience and training. His guiding principle was to avoid needless loss of life, and his motto was to "feed the troops on victory". He followed it literally arranging for hot meals to be delivered to his men during battle.

Monash remained in Europe at the end of the war and, as Director General of Repatriation and Demobilisation, efficiently managed the repatriation of 160,000 Australian soldiers. He organised professional and trade skills training for the repatriated soldiers.

By the time he returned home to a tumultuous welcome at the end of 1919, he was respected by senior Allied military men and politicians, and was feted by the public. He attracted criticism from traditionally minded officers, but won the approval of his men and commanders who worked closely with him. He had distinguished himself as a fine administrator with a genius for strategy.

The Statesman
After World War 1, Monash returned to his engineering business.

He became restless and sought a public role, eventually becoming Chairman of the State Electricity Commission as it began to mine coal and generate electricity from Victorian sources.

In the 1920s he was Australia's most revered public figure. He enjoyed the status and responsibility his career brought him. He knew his was an unusual position for a Jew. General Monash led many ANZAC parades and was the driving force behind the building of the Shrine of Remembrance in Melbourne.

He lectured at the University of Melbourne and was its Vice-Chancellor for two years from 1923. Monash became the President of the Australian Association for the Advancement of Science. He was also President of the Victorian Institute of Engineers and active in the Boy Scout movement.

Family was important to him, and in retirement he spent time with the younger generations at the family home, Iona. He died on 8 October 1931, at the age of 66, and an estimated 250,000 mourners attended the state funeral to pay their respects.

Novotel, Glen Waverley, Glen Waverley - 1998. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering. Located to the right of the entrance door, hotel entrance, Springvale Road, Glen Waverley, facing east.

71C3

Novotel

Glen Waverley

Officially opened by

THE HON. LOUISE ASHER, M.P.

MINISTER FOR SMALL BUSINESS AND TOURISM

ON

Wednesday 27th July, 1998

ACCOR

Placed to commemorate the opening of the Novotel in Glen Waverley.

Note, 19/12/2008:
Novotel Melbourne Glen Waverley is owned by AAPC Properties Pty Limited which is a wholly owned subsidiary of AAPC Limited. AAPC Limited is ultimately owned by Accor SA, a company listed on the French stock exchange, a worldwide leader in travel, tourism and corporate services. AAPC Limited directly or through its subsidiaries, including AAPC Properties Pty Limited operates in Australia under the business name Accor.

They operate hotels under the Accor brand, co-branded with such brand names as Sofitel, Novotel, Mercure, All Seasons, Ibis and Formule 1.

Monash Uni Regiment - Mounted Crest & Plaque, Civic Centre - 1998. A plaque and coat of arms (crest) of the Monash University Regiment mounted on a rectangular timber base. The plaque is silver finish with black lettering. Inside the Foyer/Atrium of Monash Civic Centre, to the right of  and in front of the Reception Desk, against a concrete pillar and facing the front doors.

71C3

MONASH UNIVERSITY REGIMENT

Presented to the

Mayor, Councillors and Citizens of the City of Monash
by the Commanding Officer and all ranks of the Monash University Regiment

on the occasion of the Regiment exercising its Right of Freedom of Entry to the City of Monash on 28 February, 1998

 
Waverley (Monash) Civic Centre, Opening Plaque 1- 1984. A polished aluminium plaque with recessed black lettering. The plaque is placed on the wall in the Atrium/Foyer of the Civic Centre, adjacent to and to the left (on entry) of the concrete brick wall, at the southern door.

71C1

WAVERLEY CIVIC CENTRE

OFFICIALLY OPENED 22ND NOVEMBER, 1984

ACHIEVEMENT OF THIS PROJECT IS ATTRIBUTABLE TO A TEAM EFFORT

OF COUNCILLORS, ESPECIALLY MEMBERS OF THE CIVIC CENTRE SUB-COMMITTEE, OFFICERS AND CONSULTANTS.

CIVIC CENTRE SUB-COMMITTEE
THE COMMITTEE FIRST MET 26TH MAY, 1981 AND SERVED UNTIL 1ST AUGUST, 1985.

ITS CONTINUING MEMBERS BEING CR. V.P. LeGRAND (CHAIRMAN) AND CRS. G.B. FRECKER, R.D. HANNAN,

N.R. HUTCHINSON-BROOKS AND L.M.RYAN.

COLIN J. BOCK                             A.G. THOMPSON

TOWN CLERK                                CITY ENGINEER

J.N. WEBSTER -  DEPUTY TOWN CLERK
J.N. HALFORD - DEPUTY CITY ENGINEER
R.J. McNAMERA - SPECIAL PROJECTS MANAGER
PRINCIPAL CONSULTANTS

HARRY SEIDLER & ASSOCIATES ARCHITECT    CIVIL AND CIVIC PTY. LTD.  PROJECT MANAGER
THESE ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS ARE NOT AN EXHAUSTIVE LIST FOR IT WAS THE CONTRIBUTIONS OF ALL COUNCILLORS AND ALL STAFF OVER NEARLY A DECADE WHICH STEERED THE PROJECT FROM CONCEPTION TO SUCCESSFUL COMPLETION.

Placed to commemorate the official opening of the new Civic Centre and Council Offices on 22 November, 1984.

Note, 19/12/2008:
Design/Completion 1982-1984, Waverley, Victoria

City of Waverley
3,500 sq m

Concrete structure, split concrete blockwalls RAIA Award, 1985

The Local Government complex stands on beautifully landscaped gently sloping ground.

A two storey wing contains the new council chamber, mayor's office, council facilities, function and meeting spaces. A three storey wing, houses the new council offices. Between them is the high central atrium foyer which can on occasions be used for large gatherings, art shows and exhibitions. 

A ramp leads up from the lower entry to a freestanding elevator and an open stair which gives access to all departmental offices. A suspended bridge across the entry space connects the council chamber and its ancillary public spaces with executive offices.

The most distinctive element in the new complex is the shape of the skylight roof over the council chamber. It consists of two opposing quadrant-shaped concrete walls forming a semicircular vault which allows overhead daylight to enter the otherwise windowless chamber.

Supported on a single column standing in a circular reflecting pool, the council chamber forms the main silhouette of the building.

Waverley (Monash) Civic Centre Opening Plaque 2 - 1984. A polished aluminium plaque with recessed black lettering. The plaque is placed on the wall in the Atrium/Foyer of the Civic Centre, adjacent to and to the left (on entry) of the concrete brick wall, at the eastern door.

71C3

THE WAVERLEY CIVIC CENTRE WAS OFFICIALLY OPENED

BY HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR OF VICTORIA

REAR ADMIRAL SIR BRIAN MURRAY, K.C.M.G., A.O.

ON THE TWENTY SECOND DAY OF NOVEMBER 1984

COUNCILLORS

D.W. APPLETON J.P.

G.B. FRECKER                         R.D. LYDON

R.D. HANNAN                           D.R. OLIN

T.M. HERRERNAN                    I.M. PEDERICK

N.H. HUTCHINSON-BROOKE  L.M.RYAN J.P.

V.P. LE GRANDE                      E.M. STURROCK

A.G. THOMPSON  L.G.E  F.I.E. AUST. 
COLIN J. BOCK F.I.M. J.P.

CITY ENGINEER                                    TOWN CLERK

Placed to commemorate the official opening of the new Civic Centre and Council Offices on 22 November 1984.

Note, 19/12/2008:
Design/Completion 1982-1984
Waverley, Victoria

City of Waverley 3,500 sqm

Concrete structure, split concrete blockwalls RAIA Award, 1985

The Local Government complex stands on beautifully landscaped gently sloping ground. 

A two storey wing contains the new council chamber, mayor's office, council facilities, function and meeting spaces. A three storey wing, houses the new council offices. Between them is the high central atrium foyer which can on occasions be used for large gatherings, art shows and exhibitions. 

A ramp leads up from the lower entry to a freestanding elevator and an open stair which gives access to all departmental offices. A suspended bridge across the entry space connects the council chamber and its ancillary public spaces with executive offices.

The most distinctive element in the new complex is the shape of the skylight roof over the council chamber. It consists of two opposing quadrant-shaped concrete walls forming a semicircular vault which allows overhead daylight to enter the otherwise windowless chamber.

Supported on a single column standing in a circular reflecting pool, the council chamber forms the main silhouette of the building.

Uniting Church, Glen Waverley Opening - 1962. A bronze plaque with white lettering. Placed on the brick wall at the southern end of the entrance foyer, Glen Waverley Uniting Church, cnr. Bogong Avee and Kingsway, Glen Waverley.

Not in its original place.

71C3

THESE BUILDINGS
WERE OPENED AND DEDICATED BY
THE REV. STANLEY I. WEEKS M.A.,
PRESIDENT OF THE CONFERENCE
ON THE OCCASION OF THE 98TH ANNIVERSARY
OF THE METHODIST CHURCH IN GLEN WAVERLEY
SUNDAY 12TH AUGUST, 1962.

MINISTER:- THE REV. ANGUS C. ALLINSON

ARCHITECT                                                     BUILDER
F.C. ARMSTRONG                                           F.H. JENNINGS
A.R.I.B.A.    A.R.A.I.A.

Note, 19/12/2008.

To commemorate the opening of the original Methodist Church in 1962. This plaque may be viewed by approaching the church office on entry.

Uniting Church, Glen Waverley, Extensions - 1982. A small bronze plaque with black lettering. Placed on the brick wall at the southern end of the entrance foyer, Glen Waverley Uniting Church, cnr. Bogong Avenue and Kingsway, Glen Waverley.

Not in its original place.

71C3

TO THE GLORY OF GOD

THIS EXTENSION WAS COMPLETED

DECEMBER 1982

REV. IAN PARTON MINISTER

Note, 19/12/2008.
To commemorate the extensions to the church buildings in 1982. This plaque may be viewed by approaching the church office on entry.
Uniting Church, Glen Waverley Foundation Stone - 1964 A dark marble foundation stone. Gold recessed lettering. Placed on the brick wall at the southern end of the entrance foyer, Glen Waverley Uniting Church, cnr. Bogong Avenue and Kingsway, Glen Waverley.

Not in its original place.

71C3

TO THE GLORY OF GOD

THIS STONE WAS UNVEILED BY

MRS. G. STEWART TAYLOR

ON THE 7TH JUNE, 1964.

 REV. A.R.C. JAMIESON : MINISTER

Note, 19/12/2008.

It was probably taken from the original Methodist church building.

This plaque may be viewed by approaching the church office on entry.

Uniting Church, Glen Waverley Foundation Stone - 1956. A white marble foundation stone. Gold recessed lettering. Placed into the brick wall at the southern end of the entrance foyer, Glen Waverley Uniting Church, cnr. Bogong Ave and Kingsway, Glen Waverley.

71C3

TO THE GLORY OF GOD

THIS STONE WAS LAID BY
MRS. M.R.E. HOLLAND

28TH APRIL 1956
REVD. G. STEWART TAYLOR B.A., B.D.
MINISTER
KEITH REID                              E.C. BUTLER
ARCHITECT                              BUILDER

Note, 19/12/2008.

The stone was probably taken from the original Methodist church building. This plaque may be viewed by approaching the church office on entry.

Uniting Church, Glen Waverley Foundation Stone - 1962. A granite foundation stone with recessed lettering which was originally gold. Placed into the brick wall at the southern end of the entrance foyer, Glen Waverley Uniting Church, cnr. Bogong Ave and Kingsway, Glen Waverley.

71C3

TO THE GLORY OF GOD

THIS STONE WAS LAID BY

THE REV. STANLEY I. WEEKS, M.A.

PRESIDENT OF THE CONFERENCE
20TH MAY 1962

Nte, 19/12/2008.

The stone was probably taken from the original Methodit church building. This stone may be viewed by approaching the church office on entry.

Uniting Church, Glen Waverley, Opening - 1991. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering. Placed on the brick pillar to the right (west side) of the building's entrance from Bogong Ave.

71C3

THIS CHURCH CENTRE
WAS OPENED AND DEDICATED
TO THE GLORY OF GOD
FOR THE MISSION OF THE CHURCH
ON 1ST DECEMBER 1991
BY THE MODERATOR
REV. JOHN BILLINGTON
AND THE PRESBYTERY
OF MAROONDAH

MINISTER REV. IAN SMITH

Note,19/12/2008: Placed to commemorate the opening of the current building on the site, 1991.
John B Alabaster Memeorial Plaque, Glen Waverley - 1977. A brass memorial plaque with recessed black lettering. On the internal wall of the Monash City Church of Christ, Montclair Ave, Glen Waverley - formerly Glen Waverley Church of Christ. The plaque is located to the right of the entrance adjacent to the Horizons bookshop and coffee shop.

71C3

IN MEMORY
OF
JOHN B. ALABASTER
LOVED ELDER OF THIS CHURCH

AGED 43

10-3-1934               26-5-1977

DEVOTED MEMBER FOR 21 YEARS

Note, 19/12/2008.
Dedicated to John B. Alabaster. This plaque may be viewed by approaching the church office on entry.

Historical note, 19/12/2008:

Monash City Church of Christ, formerly known as Glen Waverley Church of Christ, recently celebrated its 50th Anniversary with a large celebration held at its Montclair Ave location.

The Church which was founded by members of the Oakleigh Church of Christ, began its life in the home of the Thoheys in Glen Waverley, but soon out grew this location, and in 1954 began worshiping in a Tent, erected in Little street. The Church moved to its current location in 1955, when the first chapel was opened and dedicated.

ver the years, the building has under gone many changes with the current facilities being opened in 1990, which gave the community an enlarged auditorium, more office space and also allowed for the expansion of the New Horizons Bookshop and Coffee Shop which opened in the early 1980's.

Legend Park Tennis Club, Glen Waverley 10th Anniversary - 1984. A bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering. Placed on the eastern wall of the pavilion between two honour boards. Capital Ave, Glen Waverley.

62G12

LEGEND PARK TENNIS CLUB 18TH JUNE 1974
A PUBLIC MEETING INITIATED BY BERYL POLHILL
AND HELD ON THE ABOVE DATE LED TO
THE OFFICIAL CLUB FORMATION 28-11-1974.
COURTS OPENED 22-8-1976
BY CR.PERRY, J.P. MAYOR, CITY OF WAVERLEY
CLUB HOUSE OPENED 11-2-1979
BY CR. J.J. TAYLOR J.P.M MAYOR OF WAVERLEY
THIS PLAQUE WAS UNVEILED CR.G.B. FRECKER J.P.
AT THE TENTH ANNIIVERSARY CELEBRATIONS JUNE 1984

Note, 19/12/2008:
Erected and dedicated to commemorate the tenth anniversary of the opening of the tennis club and four-court complex in the clubrooms.

Access can only be when members are in attendance at the club rooms.

Salvation Army Temple, Glen Waverley, Opening - 1987. Bronze plaque with raised bronze lettering. Located on the northern wall in the foyer of the complex at 958 High Street Road, Glen Waverley - on the corner of High Street Road and Kristen Close - enter from Kristen Close.

71H1

THIS BUILDING

WAS DEDICATED AND OPENED
TO THE GLORY OF GOD

BY

COMMISSIONER DONALD CAMPBELL
27TH OF NOVEMBER, 1987

EVA BURROWS             DONALD CAMPBELL
GENERAL                       TERRITORIAL COMMANDER

Note, 19/12/2008:

Erected to commemorate the opening of the Salvation Army Temple and complex in 1987.

Salvation Army Temple, Glen Waverley, Foundation Stone - 1913. A white marble foundation stone with applied bronze lettering. Located on the floor in the foyer of the complex at 958 High Street Road, Glen Waverley, on the corner of High Street Road and Kristen Close - enter from Kristen Close. 71H1

THIS FOUNDATION STONE

WAS LAID BY

COMMISSIONER DAVID C. LAMB

(INTERNATIONAL SECRETARY, LONDON)
ON WEDNESDAY AUG. 20TH 1913.

BEING THE FIRST ANNIVERSARY OF THE DEATH OF
GENERAL WILLIAM BOOTH
"EVERY HOUR AND EVERY POWER
FOR CHRIST AND DUTY".

WM. BRAMWELL BOOTH,                                   JAMES HAY,
GENERAL                                                             COMMISSIONER

Note, 19/12/2008:
This foundation stone was not initially part of Mulgrave Waverley Monash history, but is kept and permanently displayed by Glen Waverley Salvation Army Corps at their temple.

It was originally the foundation stone for the Corps building in Burwood Rd Hawthorn and was brought to Waverley on the establishment of the temple in 1987.

Winston Bell, Legend Park Tennis Club, Glen Waverley - 1993. A brass plaque with recessed, engraved black lettering mounted on a timber base. Placed on the eastern wall of the pavilion adjacent to the honour boards. Capital Avenue, Glen Waverley.

62G12

ERECTED BY THE MEMBERS OF
LEGEND PARK TENNIS CLUB

TO HONOUR THE MEMORY OF

WINSTON BELL

FOR HIS DEDICATED SERVICE TO
THE CLUB OVER MANY YEARS
OCTOBER 1993

Note, 19/12/2008:

Access can only be when members are in attendance at the club rooms.

Jells Park - Picnic Shelter, Wheelers Hill , Rotary - 1998. A silver plaque with polished surface and black, recessed lettering. On the east facing wall of the Rotary picnic shelter, Jells Park, Wheelers Hill. Located 200-300 metres to the south west of the main building. South of the exit road and adjacent to "Yabbie Hill" childrens' playground.

72A6

This picnic shelter is the project of the

ROTARY CLUB OF GLEN WAVERLEY AND
PARKS VICTORIA

Original concept and design by

PARKS VICTORIA
Constructed and financed by
ROTARY CLUB OF GLEN WAVERLEY
officially opened March 23rd 1998.

The club members have funded and organised many projects, such as the transport and restoration of a relocated old house to the Glen Waverley Secondary Collage Camp at Nayook, built and furnished CARA (a house for young girls), and the construction of an Abbeyfield house, (a residence for elderly people). The club has also built three shelters at Jells Park and has hosted a number of exchange students from around the world. The club has also sponsored secondary college students to attend the National Youth Science Forum and the Model United Nations Assemblies and has supported many other community activities.
Jells Park - Picnic Shelter, Wheelers Hill , Rotary. Geoff Alper - 2000. A copper plaque with recessed black lettering mounted on a timber base. On the east-facing wall of the Rotary picnic shelter, Jells Park, Wheelers Hill. Located 200-300 metres to the south west of the main building. South of the exit road and adjacent to "Yabbie Hill" childrens' playground.

72A6

IN MEMORY

OF

GEOFF ALPER
"Service above Self"

Rotary club of Glen Waverley

Year 2000

Note, 7/1/2009:
Rotary Club of Glen Waverley:

Founded in 1972 through the sponsorship of the Rotary Club of Waverley. The club began with 34 foundation members, with Bill Pratt as the Club President. The Village Green Hotel was the venue for the foundation meeting and has been the venue for all meetings since, apart from a short period of time when the hotel underwent extensive renovations. The club members have funded and organised many projects, such as the transport and restoration of a relocated old house to the Glen Waverley Secondary Collage Camp at Nayook, built and furnished CARA (a house for young girls), and the construction of an Abbeyfield house, (a residence for elderly people). The club has also built three shelters at Jells Park and has hosted a number of exchange students from around the world. The club has also sponsored secondary college students to attend the National Youth Science Forum and the Model United Nations Assemblies and has supported many other community activities.

Jells Park - Picnic Shelter, Wheelers Hill , Rotary - 2000. A polished silver plaque with black slightly recessed lettering. On the east facing wall of the Rotary picnic shelter, Jells Park, Wheelers Hill. Located 200-300m to the west of the main building. North of the exit road.

72A6

This picnic shelter is a joint
project between the

Rotary Club of Glen Waverley
and Parks Victoria.

Original concept and design by Parks victoria
Constructed and financed by the
Rotary Cluub of Glen Waverley.
Officially opened 24 May 2000.

Note, 7/1/2009:
Rotary Club of Glen Waverley:

Founded in 1972 through the sponsorship of the Rotary Club of Waverley. The club began with 34 foundation members, with Bill Pratt as the Club President. The Village Green Hotel was the venue for the foundation meeting and has been the venue for all meetings since, apart from a short period of time when the hotel underwent extensive renovations.

Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre, Chadstone, Mural - 2005. A bronze coated metal plaque with black recessed lettering. Located on the corner of Amaroo and Bolwarra Streets, Chadstone. Positioned on the south facing external brick wall of the Amaroo Street Neighbourhood Centrem, to the left of the Opportunity Shop rear entrance and loading bay.   60 H2

This Mural and Sustainable Garden
has been proudly sponsored by
CVGT Employment and Training Specialists
through the Work for the Dole initiative with the support of Amaroo
Neighbourhood House.

This site was officially recognised
on
March 21st 2005
by
Senator Tsebin Tchen

Work for the Dole
An Australian Government Initiative
"Work for the Dole is a Commonwealth Government Initiative"

Note, 7/1/2009:
THE WORK FOR THE DOLE SCHEME,

In February 1997 the Howard Government announced its intention to amend social security legislation to introduce a scheme whereby unemployed young people would be required to engage in part-time work in order to be eligible for unemployment benefits. There will be a mix of compulsory and voluntary work although it has been stated that social security payments could be cut to those who refuse to comply with the scheme. The Government has decided that young people will be paid award wages and therefore they will only work the hours required to get unemployment allowance payment. Participants will still be required to look for full time work and unless employed full time will be registered as unemployed.

Work-for-the-dole projects:

Sustainable garden project

The gardens of a number of older Neighbourhood Renewal residents have been redesigned by Ashburton Support Services. The service has provided drought tolerant plants, mulch and design layout.

AMAROO NEIGHBOURHOOD CENTRE:

Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre provides programs, activities, support groups, child care, health related programs, learning and recreational programs and one-off workshops, and aim to keep all our activities as low cost as possible. We have the services of a large op-shop that provides goods and clothing at very reasonable prices, we also have an annual art show and host the local Neighbourhood Watch Group. All programs are integrated for persons with a disability where appropriate. We are managed by a committee of management and new members are always welcome.

Waverley Adult Literacy are also housed in Amaroo Neighbourhood House and offer a variety of programs such as ESL classes, computer classes etc

Historical Note, 7/1/2009:

Amaroo Neighbourhood House was established on the site of a house, "Wattle Grove" which was, for many years the home of the farming Colwell Family. It was burnt down c.1950. In 1966, the Malvern Corps of the Salvation Army built a hall there. In 1981, Waverley Council purchased the property from the Salvation Army and established a Neighbourhood House, Op Shop and food bank in the building.

Historical note, 7/1/2009:
SENATOR TSEBIN TCHEN.
Tsebin Tchen was our first Chinese-born federal politician.

He was elected in 1998 from the difficult third spot on the Liberals' Victorian Senate ticket, thanks mainly to Jeff Kennett, his state's flamboyant premier at the time, who used his influence to get Tchen preselected ahead of a sitting Liberal senator. When the preselection was held, Tchen proved successful by a comfortable margin and in due course, after a rather more strenuous effort in the election itself, became the first Asian migrant to win a seat in either house of the federal parliament.

But then in late 2004, Tchen was un-elected. That is, colleagues convinced him the Liberal Party would withdraw its support if he sought a second term in the general election of that year.

So Tchen, rather than embarrass his party as well as himself, withdrew his nomination. Thus his six-year term ended on June 30, 2005 and so did his political career.

In spite of his rather turbulent introduction, Tchen performed quietly in parliament. He served on a large number of committees, performed electoral duties energetically, and on the floor of the senate was often seen but more rarely heard. He was a strong advocate of multiculturalism but with a forcefully positive approach: with the emphasis on seeking common purposes rather than identifying differences, and of demanding acceptance rather than just tolerance. As chair of the government members' policy committee on immigration and multicultural affairs between 2000 and 2004, an elected rather than a nominated position, Tchen had an unpublicised, but nevertheless of some influence, role to play as Australia tried to grapple with the vexing issues of asylum seekers and boat people.

Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre, Chadstone, Aerosol Art Project - 2008 A polished silver metal plaque with recessed, white lettering. Located on the corner of Amaroo and Bolwarra Streets, Chadstone. Positioned on the east facing external brick wall of the Amaroo Street Neighbourhood Centre - to the right of the eastern car-park entrance to the building.

60H2

CITY OF MONASH

Aerosol Art Project

This mural has been proudly sponsored by the City of Monash and
produced by the Activate youth Group
with the guidance of Christie Allison under the auspices of Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre Inc.
This mural was officially unveiled by the mayor
Cr Paul Klisaris

on 25 February, 2008
Councillors

Mayor, Cr Paul Klisaros
Cr Charlotte Baines  Cr Joy Banerji   Cr Stephen Dimopolous
Cr Geoff Lake   Cr Ryan Brown  Cr Gerry Kotlek  Cr Dan Manzie
Cr Denise McGill  Cr Tom Morrissey  Cr Craig Shiell
Victoria  The Place To Be
Supported by the Victorian Government

Note, 7/1/2009:
The panel with the aerosol art is located to the left of the car park entrance on the wall.

Cr Klisaris said the Aerosol Art Project was funded through Council's Community Arts Grants and involved the creation of a mural on the car park wall of the Neighbourhood Centre by a group of young artists from ACTIVATE.

Artists Christie and Peter Allison, who have extensive experience working with young people in creating community art murals, were responsible in overseeing the creation of the design and supervision of the project.

The project is collaboration between Monash Youth and Family Services, the Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre and Council's Community Arts grants program.

Historical Note, 7/1/2009:
Amaroo Neighbourhood House was established on the site of a house, "Wattle Grove" which was, for many years the home of the farming Colwell Family. It was burnt down c.1950. In 1966, the Malvern Corps of the Salvation Army built a hall there. In 1981, Waverley Council purchased the property from the Salvation Army and established a Neighbourhood House, Op Shop and food bank in the building.

10 10 10 5 25 25 10

 

             
             
Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre, Chadstone, New Facilities - 1993 Two polished silver plaques with black recessed lettering - one large, one smaller. Both plaques are mounted on the internal wall of the Amaroo St Neighbourhood Centre - near the eastern car-park entrance to the building. 60H2

Larger plaque:

CITY OF WAVERLEY
THESE EXTENDED FACILITIES FOR
AMAROO NEIGHBOURHOOD CENTRE
WERE OFFICIALLY OPENED BY
HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR
Cr B F. LYNDON

ON 29 MAY 1993

Smaller plaque:

THE SUPPORT OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF THE ARTS, SPORT,
THE ENVIRONMENT AND TERRITORIES
IS GRATEFULLY ACKNOWLEDGED

Note, 7/1/2009:

Access to this plaque can only be gained when the centre is open to the public.

Historical Note, 7/1/2009:

Amaroo Neighbourhood House was established on the site of a house, "Wattle Grove" which was, for many years the home of the farming Colwell Family. It was burnt down c.1950. In 1966, the Malvern Corps of the Salvation Army built a hall there. In 1981, Waverley Council purchased the property from the Salvation Army and established a Neighbourhood House, Op Shop and food bank in the building.

Note, 7/1/2009:

Amaroo Neighbourhood Centre provides programs, activities, support groups, child care, health related programs, learning and recreational programs and one-off workshops, and aim to keep all our activities as low cost as possible. We have the services of a large op-shop that provides goods and clothing at very reasonable prices. , We also have an annual art show and host the local Neighbourhood Watch Group. All programs are integrated for persons with a disability where appropriate. We are managed by a committee of management and new members are always welcome.

Waverley Adult Literacy are also housed in Amaroo Neighbourhood House and offer a variety of programs such as ESL classes, computer classes etc

Wahroonga Retirement Village, Glen Waverley, Bert Hocking - 1996 A brass-coated metal plaque with recessed, black lettering. It is placed on the outside glazed brick wall at the entrance to the Nursing Home, Coleman Parade, Glen Waverley. It is on the western side of the entrance to the foyer/reception. 71C3 THIS SURVEILLANCE SYSTEM
WAS KINDLY DONATED
IN THE MEMORY
BERT HOCKING
26TH SEPTEMBER 1996
Note: 7/1/2008:
MANCHESTER UNITY/AUSTRALIAN UNITY, history and statement of purpose
Manchester Unity is a charitable and fraternal wing of Australian Unity. It was established as a mutual aid society in Melbourne on 7th December, 1840.  We grew over the next 150 years into a thriving business - health insurance, general insurance, building society, investment products,  holiday flats, retirement and aged care complexes.
The magnificent Manchester Unity building opposite the Melbourne Town Hall was head office for many years.  It was built during the Depression at the amazing rate of a floor a week and the project was intended to provide work for the unemployed.
Wahroonga retirement Villages, Glen Waverley, opening - 1962 A large bronze plaque with raised lettering. It is located on the outside glazed brick wall at the entrance to the Nursing Home, Coleman Parade, Glen Waverley. It is on the eastern side of the entrance to the foyer/reception. 71C3 MANCHESTER UNITY I.O.O.F.
AGED MEMBERS CENTRE
OPENED NOVEMBER 1962
MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE
H.L. RUSSELL G.M.
N.A. GIBBS D.G.M.    A.S.HARRIS P.G.M.
S.S. MULLINS I.P.G.M.     N.J. SHANKLY P.G.M
.W.L. WALMSLEY C.S.     N.W.OGDEN P.G.M.
G.W. WALMSLEY DIRECTOR     W.T. CANNING P.G.M.
Note: 7/1/2008
MANCHESTER UNITY/AUSTRALIAN UNITY, history and statement of purpose:
Manchester Unity is a charitable and fraternal wing of Australian Unity. We were established as a mutual aid society in Melbourne on 7th December 1840. It grew over the next 150 years into a thriving business - health insurance, general insurance, building society, investment products, holiday flats, retirement and aged care complexes.
Wahroonga Retirement Village, Glen Waverley - 1962 A granite foundation stone with recessed gold lettering. It is placed on the outside glazed brick wall at the entrance to the Nursing Home, Coleman Parade, Glen Waverley. It is on the eastern side of the entrance to the foyer/reception. 71C3 MANCHESTER UNITY
INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODDFELLOWS
THIS STONE WAS SET BY
BRO. S.S. MULLENS
GRAND MASTER
15TH MAY 1962.
IN
FRIENDSHIP LOVE AND TRUTH
ARCHITECTS                                              BUILDERS
H.A. & F.L. NORRIS & ASSOCIATES         SWANSON BROS. PTY. LTD.
Note: 7/1/2008
MANCHESTER UNITY/AUSTRALIAN UNITY, history and statement of purpose:
Manchester Unity is a charitable and fraternal wing of Australian Unity. It was established as a mutual aid society in Melbourne on 7th December, 1840. It grew over the next 150 years into a thriving business - health insurance, general insurance, building society, investment products, holiday flats, retirement and aged care complexes.
High Street Rd Uniting Church, Mt Waverley, Sid Brown - 1974 A bronze plaque with raised lettering mounted on a concrete base. In the grounds of the High Street Rd Uniting Church. It is now located near the western car park entrance, in the garden adjacent to the Cyclone wire fence which borders the church property and the Mt. Waverley Reservoir property. It is located beneath a Hakea tree, planted at the time of the re-location. It is approximately 10 - 15 m from High Street Road. 61G12

SIDNEY A. BROWN
PRESIDENT
WAVERLEY
HISTORICAL SOCIETY
1973 – 1974

Note, 4/2/2009:

This plaque was originally located in the garden to the west of the main church building, but was removed and re-located in the present position.

Historical note, 4/2/2009:
Sidney Brown is a former president of Waverley Historical Society. He opened a small general store in High Street Road, Mt. Waverley on the corner of Fleet Street and immediately to the west of the Mt. Waverley reservoir. This was adjacent to his house. On the arrival of motor cars, he took on the petrol agency for the district and delivered groceries in his own motor lorry.

Yernga Village Transfer of management 1999 A silver coated metal plaque with embossed black lettering mounted on a timber base Loacted in the Activities Centre, rear wall, Yernga Village, Larch Cres. Mt Waverley 61J11

YERNGA RETIREMENT VILLAGE

In recognition of the development, pastoral care
and support by the High Street Road congregation
and with special thanks to the Committee of Management
for their commitment to residents from 1982 - 1999.

Presented on the occasion of the official transfer of the
management of the village to Strathdon Community on 1st April, 1999.
David Veith Robert Paroissien
Chairman                                     Chairman
Yernga Management Committee                         Strathdon Community

 
Yernga Village a tribute to the Rev. Bill Trewin A bronze plaque with recessed black lettering mouted on a concrete base. Placed below a tree in the courtyard of he village 20 metres east of the Activities Centre

61J11

In Memory Of

REV. BILL TREWIN

Whose vision created Yernga Village
The Tree Was Planted By
Mrs Jean Trewin
on 8.4.1990

Note, 4.2.2009. Permission to view should be gained through High Street Rd Uniting Church.

Yernga Retirement Village, established by the High Street Rd Uniting Congregation is situated at 32-42 Larch Cres. Mt Waverley. Yernga meaning "looking forward" was initiated by the Rev. Bill was the then minister of the High Street Rd Uniting Church.

Power Neighbourhood House, Chadstone, George Hess A framed photo and cardboard inscription mounted on a board. Located on the north wall, adjacent to the entrance in the activities room at the rear of the Neighbourhood House.

60H12

"The George Hess Room"

was officially re-named in
Housing Week 2000
to acknowledge
George's long service to
Power Neighbourhood House
and his community.
April 12, 2000

Note, 4/2/2009:
This item has been included even though this register does not normally include ephemera such as framed paper material, because it also contains an inscription.

Power Neighbourhood House, Chadstone, Activities Centre - 1987. A framed  cardboard inscription, mounted in board and framed with black/gold frame. Located on the north wall, adjacent to the entrance in the activities room at the rear of the Neighbourhood House.

60H12

OPENED BY
THE MAYOR OF WAVERLEY
Cr. GRAEME FRECKER
5th DECEMBER, 1987

THANKS TO
ZONTA CLUB OF WAVERLEY
HOLMESGLEN COLLEGE OF T.A.F.E.
MINISTRY OF HOUSING
CITY OF WAVERLEY
WILL POWER CLUB
SHERRYN DANAHER

Note, 4/2/2009:
There is a record in the WHS Database, (recorded by Doug Gunn) mention of a BRONZE plaque with the identical inscription as this framed plaque. It is possible that a bronze plaque may have been originally placed and since lost. However, there is no record at this point that a permanent metal plaque was placed in this room.
Therefore this item has been included even though this register has not normally included ephemera such as framed paper material.
Valley Reserve Mt Waverley A metal inscription mounted on a seat. Located at the South end of the reserve

70G3

Remembering with affection
ERNIE KING
who loved to walk in the Valley Reserve

 
Valley Reserve, Mt Waverley A metal inscription mounted on a seat. Located south of the carpark 70F2

SALKIN TRIBUTE

In recognition of the dedication of Alf and Esma Salkin, the founding members of the Friends of Valley Reserve, for raising the community awareness about our local indigenous bushland. Their leadership has provided a legacy for future generations through the ongoing protection and enhancement of this beautiful Reserve. Esma and Alf's comittment to research and education has furthered our knowledge of Australian native plants and the natural environment.
Thank you for sharing your love of nature with the people of Monash.
(City of Monash, Friends of Damper Creek and Friends of Scotchmans Creek and Valley Reserve.)

The text of these two plaques says it all.
Valley Reserve, Mt Waverley An engraved plate mounted on a seat on the landing. Located on the west side of the pond 70F2 ALF SALKIN LANDING
This landing is dedicated to Alf Salkin for his service to the community and the environment for over 40 years. Alf was a enthusiastic naturalist and conservationist who, together with his wife Esma Salkin, was instrumental in establishing the Friends of Valley Reserve in 1982 and in guiding the revegetation and rehabilitation of remnant bushland in the district. His pioneering conservation activities inspired others to undertake similar works in the Damper, Scotchmans and Gardiners Creek corridors has left invaluable legacy for future generations. Born 6.6.1923 in Manchester, England, Alf arrived in Australia in 1949 knowing little about his adopted country. He spent most of his adult life in Mount Waverley and died on 7.3.2005. His fascination with botany lead him to become an expert and author of books on Australian native plants. He and Esma co-authored several books including "Flora of the Waverley Area", and founded the Society for Growing of Native Plants, Waverley.
City of Monash Crest
The Alf Salkin landing was officially opened by the Mayor, Councillor Joy Banerji on the 6 June 2006. Councillor Charlotte Baines, Councillor Ryan Brown, Councillor Steven Dimopolous, Councillor Paul Klisaris, Councillor Geoff Lake, Councillor Gerry Kottek, Councillor Dane Manzie, Councillor Denise McGill, Councillor Tom Morrissey, Councillor Craig Shiell.
Note, Mar 2011. This plaque has weathered and is very difficult to read.
Pattersons Bridge Plaque in Shepherds Bush Park Bronze plaque with raised lettering on a concrete base Located on the west side of the creek near the footbridge.  On the walking track extending due east beyonsd the east end of Shepherd Rd 71 K3 (BOARD OF WORKS  Logo)
PATTERSON'S BRIDGE
NAMED IN RECOGNITION OF THE CONTRIBUTION MADE OVER 33 YEARS (1958-89) BY
ALAN PATTERSON,  M.B.E., J.P.
AS A MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF WORKS AND IN PARTICULAR TO THE CREATION OF DANDENONG VALLEY METROPOLITAN PARK
OPENED BY
THE HON. R. W. WALSH, M.P.
MINISTER FOR WATER RESOURCES
 
             
             
10 10 10 5 30 25 10