St Paul's Cathedral
In exciting news for St Paul's the State Government is injecting $750,000 towards the restoration of the cathedral as a sign of the their ongoing commitment to the restoration process.
The cathedral has been closed for safety reasons since January 2009. We estimate about $5,000,000 is needed for a complete restoration.
We are currently worshipping in the hall beside the cathedral.
The experience reminds us that the church is more than bricks and mortar. The people of God are the Church and in many ways we are enjoying the closer connections with one another. At the same time we look forward to returning to the cathedral.
St Paul’s Cathedral was designed by goldfields architect Robert A. Love, based on a Neo-Gothic cruciform style.The nave was completed and dedicated in November 1868. The 30-metre high tower housing a peal of eight bells was completed in 1873. The chancel and transepts were added in 1927, completing Love’s original design vision.
The Cathedral boasts many beautiful features. Its splendid ceiling rises to almost 20 metres with its ornamented semi-circular cusps. Outstanding stained glass windows fill the space with the light of God. Several beautiful wooden sculptures adorn the Cathedral: Madonna and Child by Leopoldine Mimevich in the MacCullagh Chapel, St Peter and St Paul by Ola Cohn in the niches of the sanctuary panelling, and The Crucified Jesus with Mary and John, which is high on the west wall. The Cathedral houses the organ case with its colourful pipes, most recently re-built in 1957, and the opus-sectile [mosaic] reredos below the east window depicting a scene from the Last Supper.
St Paul’s became the Cathedral of the Diocese of Bendigo in 1981.
The bells of St Paul’s Bendigo arrived on the Cutty Sark, 27th March 1873 and were installed ready to ring for the first time on Good Friday 10th April 1873.
Because of safety issues with the tower, from 1880 the bells were not able to be rung, but only chimed. In 1963 they were returned to London for recasting and on return in 1964 were replaced in the tower at a lower level. On Sunday 20th December the tower was re-hallowed and the bells re-dedicated by the Bishop of Bendigo, the Rt. Reverend Ronald Richards and the Rector of St Paul’s, Canon David Anthony.
There have been many ringers over the years, some of whom have given long and faithful service. Ringers from all over the world have rung at St Paul’s Bendigo. Unfortunately the bells are now silent due to structural safety concerns.