'Box Cottage' Museum

‘Box Cottage’ Museum
Joyce Park, Jasper Road, Ormond 3204

The cottage is an exact reproduction of a small pioneer cottage, which was thought to be built in the 1840s, and found in quite poor repair, close-by to the present museum site. As that early pioneer builder’s identity remains unverified, the museum was named after long standing residents, William and Elizabeth Box, who lived in the little cottage from 1865 to 1914 and raised ten children. As many as possible, of the original cottage’s items, were incorporated into the reproduction cottage. One such example is that the original 1840s convict bricks have been re-used to build the fireplace in the museum. The cottage museum also houses an interesting, eclectic collection of historical artifacts and photos, that have been generously donated over the last fifty years by local residents.

The ‘Box Cottage’ site also boasts a barn area. Items on display include an historic dray, a sample of the original tram way plates that were in use in Centre Road, Nepean Highway, and South Road from the late 1800s, different types of ploughs, market garden equipment, and much, much more.